GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 599 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07/02/2024

MISSION AMRIT SAROVAR IN KARNATAKA

599 SHRI NARAYANA KORAGAPPA:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the aims and objectives of Mission Amrit Sarovar;
- (b) the details of Amrit Sarovars (Ponds) identified under Amrit Sarovar Mission in the State of Karnataka, district-wise; and
- (c) the status of developing/rejuvenation of Amrit Sarovars identified from Karnataka?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI)

- (a): The Mission Amrit Sarovar was launched on 24th April 2022, with an objective to conserve water for the future. As per initial target the Mission aimed at developing / rejuvenating 75 Amrit Sarovar (Pond) in each district of the Country, totaling about 50,000 Amrit Sarovars in the country. Amrit Sarovar has been a visible manifestation of the actions during Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav.
- (b)&(c): District-wise details of number of sites identified, number of works commenced out of total identified sites and number of works completed out of the commenced works in the State of Karnataka under Mission Amrit Sarovar as on 01.02.2024 are given at **Annexure.**

Annexure referred in reply to parts (b)&(c) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 599 dated 07.02.2024.

District-wise details of number of sites identified, number of works commenced out of total identified sites and number of works completed out of the commenced works in the State of Karnataka under Mission Amrit Sarovar as on 01.02.2024.

		Number of sites	Number of works	Number of works
Sr. No.	District	Number of sites identified	commenced out of	completed out of the
		identified	total identified sites	commenced works
1	Bagalkote	165	152	136
2	Ballari	154	149	117
3	Bangalore	105	90	72
4	Belagavi	267	267	198
5	Bengaluru Rural	164	157	124
6	Bidar	219	154	97
7	Chamarajanagara	150	150	100
8	Chikkaballapura	160	154	154
9	Chikkamagaluru	185	170	156
10	Chitradurga	184	140	124
11	Dakshina Kannada	77	77	75
12	Davanagere	194	139	125
13	Dharwad	171	160	99
14	Gadag	98	94	82
15	Hassan	279	236	196
16	Haveri	204	199	133
17	Kalaburagi	258	174	92
18	Kodagu	77	77	69
19	Kolar	270	215	179
20	Koppal	115	113	107
21	Mandya	240	160	158
22	Mysuru	161	157	146
23	Raichur	140	137	108
24	Ramanagara	244	237	196
25	Shivamogga	191	188	184
26	Tumakuru	163	163	113
27	Udupi	103	102	99
28	Uttara Kannada	99	99	95
29	Vijayapura	137	106	89
30	Vijaynagar	112	109	77
31	Yadgir	178	145	92