GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2219 ANSWERED ON 21.12.2023

SANCTION OF FUNDS FOR BUDDHIST CIRCUIT

2219 DR. AMAR PATNAIK:

Will the Minister of **TOURISM** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Final Revised DPR regarding the inclusion of the Dhauli-Ratnagiri-Lalitgiri- Udayagiri- Langudi Buddhist Circuit of Odisha under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme was submitted vide DoT Government of Odisha letter No. 8358/TSM dtd. 24.09.2019 to Government of India;
- (b) whether a reminder was communicated in this regard vide letter bearing No. 5562/TSM dtd.17.07.2020 to the Ministry;
- (c) whether the Ministry plans to approve the said project proposal for sanction under Swadesh Darshan Scheme; and
- (d) whether the Central Government will consider sanctioning funds for the development of Rural Circuit and Spiritual Circuit under Swadesh Darshan Scheme?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF TOURISM

(SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) to (d): The Ministry of Tourism launched its flagship scheme of 'Swadesh Darshan' in 2014-15 to compliment the efforts of State Governments/UT Administrations for building tourism facilities across the Nation and has sanctioned ₹5294.11 Crore for undertaking 76 projects including one project "Development of Gopalpur, Barkul, Satapada and Tampara" sanctioned in Odisha for ₹70.82 crore in the year 2016-17. In addition, the Ministry of Tourism has also sanctioned projects under Rural and Spiritual thematic Circuits, the details of which is annexed.

After 2018-19, the Ministry of Tourism undertook a comprehensive review of the scheme and all the proposals submitted by State Governments were deemed returned. Now the Ministry has revamped the scheme as 'Swadesh Darshan 2.0 (SD2.0)' with the objective to develop sustainable and responsible tourism destinations. As per the SD2.0 scheme guidelines, the State Governments/UT Administrations prepare a State Perspective Plan (SPP) analysing tourism potential of various destinations based on the features like major tourism attractions, offerings, connectivity, current tourism eco system, state support etc. Accordingly, the Ministry of Tourism in consultation with the respective State Government/UT Administration selects destinations for development. The Ministry of Tourism has notified 55 destinations in the country including 'Koraput' in Odisha for development under the scheme.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2219 ANSWERED ON 21.12.2023 REGARDING SANCTION OF FUNDS FOR BUDDHIST CIRCUIT BY DR. AMAR PATNAIK

Detail of projects sanctioned under Rural and Spiritual Circuits of Swadesh Darshan scheme.

(Amount in ₹ crore)

S.	Name of	Year	Project Name	Amount	Amount				
No.	State			Sanctioned	Released				
RURAL CIRCUIT									
1.	Bihar	2017-	Development of Gandhi Circuit:	44.27	39.96				
		18	Bhitiharwa- Chandrahia- Turkaulia						
2.	Kerala	2018-	Development of Malanad Malabar	57.35	30.98				
		19	Cruise Tourism Project						
SPIRITUAL CIRCUIT									
1.	Kerala	2016-	Development of Sabarimala -	47.74	27.44				
		17	Erumeli-Pampa-Sannidhanam as a						
			Spiritual Circuit in District						
			Pathanamthitta, Kerala.						
2.	Manipur	2016-	Development of Shri Govindajee	45.34	43.04				
		17	Temple, Shri Bijoy Govindajee						
			Temple – Shri Gopinath Temple –						
			Shri Bungshibodon Temple – Shri						
			Kaina Temple.						
3.	Kerala	2016-	Development of Sree Padmanabha	78.08	73.77				
		17	Temple, Aranmula- Sabrimala						
4.	Bihar	2016-	Development of Kanwaria Route:	44.76	42.52				
		17	Sultanganj – Dharmshala- Deoghar						
5.	Uttar	2016-	Development of Spiritual Circuit-	71.91	68.32				
	Pradesh	17	I(Shahjahanpur-Allahabad-Basti-						
			Ahar-Aligharh-Kasgunj-Sarosi-						
			Pratapgarh-Unnao-Kaushambi-						
			Mirzapur-Gorakpur- Kairana-						
			Doamriyagunj- Bagpat-Barabanki-						
			Azamgarh)						
6.	Uttar	2016-	Development of Bijnor- Meerut-	67.51	64.14				
	Pradesh	17	Kanpur- Kanpur Dehat- Banda-						
			Ghazipur- Salempur- Ghosi- Balia-						
			Ambedkar Nagar- Aligarh-						
			Fatehpur- Deoria- Mahoba-						
			Sonbhadra- Chandauli- Mishrikh- Bhadohi						
7.	Rajasthan	2016-	Development of Spiritual Circuit-	87.05	72.23				
		17	'Development of Churu (Salasar						

			Balaji)-Jaipur (Shri Samodke		
			Balaji, Ghatke Balaji, Bandheke		
			Balaji)- Viratnagar (Bijak,		
			Jainnasiya, Ambika Temple)-		
			Bharatpur (Kaman Region)-		
			Dholpur (Muchkund) - Mehndipur		
			Balaji- Chittorgarh (Sanwaliyaji)		
8.	Puducherry	2017-	Development of Karaikal, Yanam	34.96	30.94
		18	and Puducherry		
9.	Bihar	2017-	Development of Mandar Hill &	44.55	42.32
		18	Ang Pradesh.		
10	Maharashtra	2018-	Development of Waki- Adasa-	53.96	32.04
		19	Dhapewada- Paradsingha- Chota		
			Taj Bagh- Telankhandi- Girad		
11.	Uttar	2018-	Development of Jewar-Dadri-	12.03	11.43
	Pradesh	19	Sikandrabad-Noida-Khurja-Banda		
12.	Uttar	2018-	Development of Gorakhnath	18.30	16.81
	Pradesh	19	Temple(Gorakhpur), Devipattan		
			Temple (Balrampur) and Vatvashni		
			Temple(Domariyaganj)		
13.	Kerala	2018-	Development Sivagiri Sree	66.42	42.01
		19	Narayana Guru Ashram-		
			Arruvipuram-		
			KunnumparaSreeSubrahmania-		
			ChembazhanthiSree Narayana		
			Gurukulam		
