GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1569 ANSWERED ON 15.12.2023

VANDE BHARAT TRAINS

1569. SHRI G. V. L. NARASIMHA RAO:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) number of currently operating Vande Bharat trains in the country, State-wise and routewise;

(b) plans for starting more Vande Bharat trains in the next three years, route-wise and State-wise;

(c) plans for introducing Vande Bharat trains with sleeper coaches, details thereof;

(d) timeframe by when Vande Bharat sleeper coach trains will become operational, proposed routes, criteria for selection in the first phase etc.;

(e) plans for manufacturing of 500 new generation Vande Bharat Trains in the next three years and funds allocated for the purpose; and

(f) whether there are plans to export these trains to other countries, details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (f) A Statement is laid on the table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (f) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1569 BY SHRI G. V. L. NARASIMHA RAO ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 15.12.2023 REGARDING VANDE BHARAT TRAINS

(a) to (f) At present, 68 Vande Bharat train services are running across the Broad Gauge (B.G.) electrified network of Indian Railways (IR). These are operational on the New Delhi - Prayagraj - Kanpur Central -Varanasi, New Delhi - Ambala Cantt. – Ludhiana - Jammu Tawi - Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Katra, Mumbai Central - Borivali – Vapi – Surat – Vadodara – Ahmedabad - Gandhinagar Capital , New Delhi- Ambala Cantt. – Chandigarh - Anandpur Sahib - Una Himachal Amb Andaura, MGR Chennai Central- Katpadi -KSR Bengaluru - Mysuru, Bilaspur- Raipur - Durg - Rajnandgaon - Gondia - Nagpur, Howrah- Bolpur Shantiniketan - Malda Town - Barsoi - New Jalpaiguri, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus- Nasik Road – Kalyan – Thane - Dadar - Sainagar Shirdi, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus- Dadar - Thane - Kalyan - Pune - Kurduvadi - Solapur, Rani Kamalapati - Virangana Lakshmibai Jhansi – Gwalior - Agra Cantt. -Hazrat Nizamuddin, MGR Chennai Central- Salem - Erode - Tiruppur - Coimbatore, Secunderabad -Nalgonda – Guntur – Ongole - Nellore - Tirupati, Ajmer – Jaipur – Alwar – Rewari – Gurgaon - Delhi Cantt., Visakhapatnam- Samalkot – Rajamundry – Vijayawada – Khammam - Warangal - Secunderabad, Kasargod- Kannur - Kozhikkode - Tirur - Shoranur - Thrisur - Ernakulam - Alappuzha - Kollam -Thiruvananthapuram Central, Kasargod - Kannur - Kozhikkode - Shoranur - Thrisur - Ernakulam Town -Kottayam - Chengannur - Kollam - Thiruvananthapuram Central, Howrah- Kharagpur - Balasore -Bhadrak - Jajpur - Keonjhar Road - Cuttack - Bhubaneswar - Khurda Road - Puri, Anand Vihar Terminal-Meerut City - Muzaffarnagar - Deoband - Saharanpur - Roorkee - Haridwar - Dehradun, New Jalpaiguri -New Cooch Behar - New Alipurduar - Kokrajhar - New Bongaigaon - Kamakhya - Guwahati, Patna -Gaya – Koderma - Hazaribagh Town – Barkakana - Mesra - Ranchi, KSR Bengaluru - Yesvantpur – Davangere - Hubballi - Dharwad, Rani Kamalapati- Narmadapuram – Itarsi – Pipariya – Narsinghpur – Jabalpur – Katni – Maihar - Satna - Rewa, Indore – Ujjain – Bhopal – Itarsi – Betul -Nagpur, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus- Dadar – Thane – Panvel – Khed – Ratnagiri – Kankavli - Thivim - Madgaon, Gorakhpur – Basti - Ayodhya - Lucknow, Jodhpur- Pali – Marwar – Falna - Abu Road - Palanpur -Mahesana - Sabarmati, Ahmedabad - Sabarmati - Sanand - Viramgam - Surendranagar - Wankaner -

Rajkot - Jamnagar , Udaipur City- Rana Pratap Nagar – Mavli – Chittaurgarh – Bhilwara – Bijainagar – Ajmer - Kishangarh - Jaipur, Kacheguda- Mahbubnagar - Kurnool City – Anantapur - Dharmavaram -Yesvantpur, Chennai Egmore- Tambaram - Villupuram – Tiruchchirappalli - Dindigul - Madurai -Virudunagar - Tirunelveli, MGR Chennai Central- Renigunta – Nellore – Ongole - Tenali - Vijayawada, Howrah – Durgapur – Asansol – Jamtara - Jasidih - Luckeesarai – Mokama - Patna Saheb - Patna, Rourkela – Jharsuguda - Sambalpur City – Raikakhol – Angul - Talcher Road – Dhenkanal – Cuttack – Bhubaneswar - Khurda Road Puri, Howrah – Kharagpur - Tatanagar - Chandil – Purulia – Kotshila - Muri - Ranchi sectors. As the Railway network straddles across State boundaries, trains services are introduced, as per network requirement, cutting across such boundaries. However, introduction of new Vande Bharat services and its variants is an ongoing process over Indian Railways subject to traffic justification, operational feasibility, resource availability, etc.

In the Budget 2022-2023, an announcement has been made regarding development and manufacture of four hundred new-generation Vande Bharat Trains. Indian Railways is looking forward for export of indigenously manufactured Vande Bharat trains. Railway PSUs including RITES have been authorized for export of rolling stock.
