## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1509** TO BE ANSWERED ON: 15.12.2023

#### NATIONAL SUPERCOMPUTING MISSION

### 1509. SHRI S NIRANJAN REDDY:

Will the Minister of Electronics and Information Technology be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the funds spent under the National Supercomputing Mission launched to enhance the research capacities and capabilities in the country by forming a Supercomputing grid;
- (b) the progress made under the mission so far;
- (c) whether there are skilled engineers to handle the complexities of supercomputers;
- (d) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise; and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor?

#### ANSWER

### MINISTER OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAJEEV CHANDRASEKHAR)

(a) to (e): The National Supercomputing Mission ('NSM') is a Government of India initiative to build capacity in the area of supercomputing. It is being jointly implemented by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology('MeitY') and the Department of Science and Technology('DST') through the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing('C-DAC'), Pune and Indian Institute of Science('IISc'), Bengaluru. NSM was initiated in April 2015 with a budget outlay of Rs 4,500 Crores for seven years. An amount of Rs. 1,218.14 crore has been spent till date for the mission activities. Till date, systems with a total of 24 PF compute capacity have been commissioned at 20 academic institutions, organisations and Research and Development (R&D) labs across the country. (List attached-Annexure I). Four nodal centres for formal training in high performance computing and AI have been established at IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras, IIT Goa and IIT Palakkad.

\*\*\*\*\*

# Annexure I

Sr. No.	Institute Name	Computing Power
1.	IIT(BHU), Varanasi	838TF(10 <sup>12</sup> )
2.	IISER, Pune	1.7PF(10 <sup>15</sup> )
3.	IIT, Kharagpur	1.66PF
4.	JNCASR, Bangalore	1.8PF
5.	IIT, Kanpur	1.66PF
6.	C-DAC, Pune	5.2PF/210PF (AI)
7.	IIT, Hyderabad	838TF
8.	NABI, Mohali	838TF
9.	IISc, Bangalore	3.3PF
10.	C-DAC, Bangalore	838TF
11.	IIT, Roorkee	1.66PF
12.	IIT, Gandhinagar	838TF
13.	NIT, Trichy	838TF
14.	IIT, Guwahati	838TF
15.	IIT, Mandi	838TF
16.	C-DAC, Pune	52.3 TF
17.	IIT, Kharagpur	52.3 TF
18.	IIT, Palakkad	52.3 TF
19.	IIT, Chennai	52.3 TF
20.	IIT, Goa	52.3 TF

# **Twenty supercomputers: (Deployed)**