# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING RAJYA SABHA

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.147 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.12.2023

#### NITI AAYOG'S GROWTH HUBS PROGRAMME IN VARANASI AND VISAKHAPATNAM

- 147 SHRI G.V.L. NARASIMHA RAO:
  - Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:
- (a) whether it is a fact that Niti Aayog has identified four cities on a pilot basis for the Growth Hub programme;
- (b) rationale and approach for the Growth Hubs programme;
- (c) the list of cities selected and reasons for selection;
- (d) the districts likely to be considered as part of the integrated growth hubs of Varanasi and Visakhapatnam;
- (e) the steps taken so far in Varanasi and Visakhapatnam and proposed activities in next six months;
- (f) whether any professional agencies have been engaged for identifying growth potentials and developing projects; and
- (g) likely investment for Growth Hubs programme and sources of funding?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF STATISTICS AND PROGRAMME IMPLEMENTATION; MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS

### (RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) Yes Sir.
- (b) Viksit Bharat aims at India being a \$30 trillion economy by 2047. Urban centers are important engines of growth for the development of any economy. The Growth Hubs programme is an initiative to develop city regions in a planned manner in order to achieve the economic target by 2047.

The programme aims to develop a template for devising economic growth strategy for identified City regions across the country and prepare a roadmap for achieving the same which inter alia includes identification of key growth drivers, enablers and interventions.

- (c) The cities have been selected based on the criteria of geographic spread, size and scale. The Cityregions have been defined as a group of districts which are economically & socially adjacent, related, or co-dependent. The four city-regions selected on a pilot basis are Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR), Varanasi, Surat and Visakhapatnam.
- (d) The city-region of Varanasi includes districts of Varanasi, Prayagraj, Azamgarh, Mirzapur, Sonbhadra, Jaunpur, Chandauli, Mau, Ballia, Bhadohi and Ghazipur. The city-region of Visakhapatnam includes districts of Visakhapatnam, Anakapalle, Vizianagram, Srikakulam, Parvathipuram Manyam, Alluri Sitharama Raju, Kakinada and East Godavari.
- (e) Given the scale of the project, an institutional mechanism has been put in place wherein a National Steering committee chaired by CEO, NITI Aayog has been set-up involving officials from MoHUA and domain experts. In addition, each State (Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh) has constituted a steering committee for strategic interventions and overall monitoring under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary. States have also constituted designated Cells for operational matters. So far, meetings have already been held with concerned district collector and state government officials to get their inputs. The timeline for next steps have been finalized.
- (f) A Statement of Intent has been signed by NITI Aayog with Institute of Sustainability, Employment and Growth (ISEG) Foundation and World Resources Institute (WRI) India for the Project.
- (g) The template for economic growth strategy for identified City regions inter alia includes identification of organisational and financial unlocks, implementation milestones for the short-listed growth drivers, plan for targeted funding and proposed governance structure.

\*\*\*\*