GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DEPARTMENT OF SPACE

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1405

TO BE ANSWERED ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2023

SPACE TECHNOLOGY INCUBATIONAL CENTRES

1405. DR. ANIL SUKHDEORAO BONDE:

MS. INDU BALA GOSWAMI:

Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state:

- (a) the details about the concept of the Space Technology Incubational Centres (STIC); and
- (b) the details of the number of Space Technology Cells (STC), Space Technology Incubational Centres (STIC), and Regional Academic Centre for Space (RACS)?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES & PENSIONS AND IN THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH):

- (a) Space Technology Incubation Centre (S-TIC) has been set-up to attract and nurture the young academia with innovative ideas/ research aptitude for carrying out research, motivating and encouraging them to initiate the start-ups and business in the field of space technology & applications and developing the Academia–Industry ecosystem for Space Technology.
- (b) ISRO has set up Space Technology Cells (STC) at following premiere institutions:

Sl. No.	Institute
1.	Indian Institute of Technology (IITs) – Bombay, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, Roorkee, Guwahati and Delhi
2.	Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore
3.	Joint Research Programme (JRP) with Savitribai Phule Pune University (SPPU)

The details of the six Space Technology Incubation Centres (STIC) are as below:

Sl. No.	Region	Institute
1.	North East	National Institute of Technology, Agartala, Tripura
2.	Northern	Dr. B R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar, Punjab
3.	Southern	National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli, Tamilnadu
4.	Western	Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur, Maharashtra
5.	Eastern	National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, Odisha
6.	Central	Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

The details of the Regional Academic Centre for Space (RACS) are as below:

Sl. No.	Institute
1.	National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra, Haryana
2.	Malviya National Institute of Technology (MNIT), Jaipur, Rajasthan
3.	National Institute of Technolgy, Patna, Bihar
4.	Indian Institute of Technology, BHU, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
5.	Guwahati University, Guwahati, Assam
6.	National Institute of Technology, Suratkal, Mangalore, Karnataka