GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 73 ANSWERED ON 08.12.2023

OPERATIONAL ROUTES OF VANDE BHARAT EXPRESS TRAINS

*73. SHRI R. DHARMAR:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of operational routes of Vande Bharat Express Trains in the country;
- (b) whether Government is planning to expand the network of Vande Bharat Express Trains within the country;
- (c) if so, the details thereof along with its response;
- (d) whether Government has planned to operate Vande Bharat Sleeper Trains within the country;
- (e) if so, the details thereof; and
- (f) by when these are likely to be operated?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (f) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (f) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 73 BY SHRI R. DHARMAR ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 08.12.2023 REGARDING OPERATIONAL ROUTES OF VANDE BHARAT EXPRESS TRAINS

(a) to (f) As on 04th December, 2023, 68 Vande Bharat train services are running across the Indian Railways, connecting states having Broad Gauge (B.G.) electrified network. These are operational on the New Delhi - Varanasi (Prayagraj, Kanpur Central), New Delhi-Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Katra (Ambala Cantt, Ludhiana, Jammu Tawi), Mumbai Central-Gandhinagar Capital (Borivali, Vapi, Surat, Vadodara, Ahmedabad), New Delhi-Amb Andaura (Ambala Cantt, Chandigarh, Anandpur Sahib, Una Himachal), MGR Chennai Central-Mysuru (Katpadi, KSR Bengaluru), Bilaspur-Nagpur (Raipur, Durg, Rajnandgaon, Gondia), Howrah-New Jalpaiguri (Bolpur Shantiniketan, Malda Town, Barsoi), Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus-Sainagar Shirdi (Nasik Road, Kalyan, Thane, Dadar), Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus-Solapur (Dadar, Thane, Kalyan, Pune, Kurduvadi), Rani Kamalapati -Hazrat Nizamuddin (Virangana Lakshmibai Jhansi, Gwalior, Agra Cantt), MGR Chennai Central-Coimbatore (Salem, Erode, Tiruppur), Secunderabad-Tirupati (Nalgonda, Guntur, Ongole, Nellore), Ajmer -Delhi Cantt (Jaipur, Alwar, Rewari, Gurgaon), Visakhapatnam-(Samalkot, Rajamundry, Vijayawada, Khammam, Warangal), Kasargod-Secunderabad Thiruvananthapuram Central (Kannur, Kozhikkode, Shoranur, Thrisur, Ernakulam Town, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Chengannur, Kollam), Howrah-Puri (Kharagpur, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur Keonjhar Road, Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Khurda Road), Anand Vihar Terminal-Dehradun (Meerut City, Muzaffarnagar, Deoband, Saharanpur, Roorkee, Haridwar), New Jalpaiguri -Guwahati (New Cooch Behar, New Alipurduar, Kokrajhar, New Bongaigaon, Kamakhya), Patna -Ranchi (Gaya, Koderma, Hazaribagh Town, Barkakana, Mesra), KSR Bengaluru - Dharwad (Yesvantpur, Davangere, Hubballi), Rani Kamalapati-Rewa (Narmadapuram, Itarsi, Pipariya, Narsinghpur, Jabalpur, Katni, Maihar, Satna), Indore -Nagpur (Ujjain, Bhopal, Itarsi, Betul), Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus-Madgaon. (Dadar, Thane, Panvel, Khed, Ratnagiri, Kankavli, Thivim), Gorakhpur -Lucknow (Basti, Ayodhya), Jodhpur-Sabarmati (Pali Marwar, Falna, Abu Road, Palanpur, Mahesana).

Kasargod- Thiruvananthapuram Central (Kannur, Kozhikkode, Tirur, Shoranur, Thrisur, Ernakulam, Alappuzha, Kottayam, Chengannur, Kollam), Ahmedabad - Jamnagar (Sabarmati, Sanand, Viramgam, Surendranagar, Wankaner, Rajkot), Udaipur City-Jaipur (Rana Pratap Nagar, Mavli, Chittaurgarh, Bhilwara, Bijainagar, Ajmer, Kishangarh), Kacheguda-Yesvantpur (Mahbubnagar, Kurnool City, Anantapur, Dharmavaram), Chennai Egmore-Tirunelveli (Tambaram, Villupuram, Tiruchchirappalli, Dindigul , Madurai , Virudunagar), MGR Chennai Central-Vijayawada (Renigunta, Nellore, Ongole, Tenali), Howrah -Patna (Durgapur, Asansol, Jamtara, Jasidih, Luckeesarai, Mokama, Patna Saheb), Rourkela - Puri (Jharsuguda, Sambalpur City, Raikakhol, Angul, Talcher Road, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Khurda Road), Howrah -Ranchi (Kharagpur, Tatanagar, Chandil, Purulia, Kotshila, Muri) sectors.

Besides, introduction of train services, including Vande Bharat Express services and its variants, is an ongoing process over Indian Railways subject to operational feasibility, traffic justification, resource availability, etc.
