# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

# RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 608 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 25<sup>TH</sup> JULY, 2023

# SANCTION OF NEW MEDICAL COLLEGES AT JALORE, PRATAPGARH AND RAJSAMAND

## 608. SHRI MUKUL BALKRISHNA WASNIK:

Will the Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that proposals for the establishment of new medical colleges under the Centrally Sponsored Scheme Phase - III in Jalore, Pratapgarh and Rajsamand districts are pending consideration of Government and;
- (b) whether any timeframe is set to decide on these proposals;
- (c) if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

#### ANSWER

# THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) to (d): The Ministry of Health & Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals' with preference to underserved areas and aspirational districts, where there is no existing Government or private medical college with fund sharing between the Centre and State Governments in the ratio of 90:10 for North Eastern and Special Category States and 60:40 for others.

Under the Scheme, all the envisaged 157 Government medical colleges have been approved in three phases, including 23 medical colleges in the State of Rajasthan. The phase wise details of medical colleges approved in Rajasthan are at Annexure.

\*\*\*\*

**Details of Medical Colleges approved in Rajasthan under Centrally Sponsored Scheme for 'Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing District/Referral Hospitals'** 

S.No.	Districts	Functional (as on 30/06/2023)
	Phase - I	
1.	Barmer	Yes
2.	Bharatpur	Yes
3.	Bhilwara	Yes
4.	Churu	Yes
5.	Dungarpur	Yes
6.	Pali	Yes
7.	Sikar	Yes
·	Phase - II	•
8.	Dholpur	Yes
·	Phase - III	•
9.	Alwar	Yes
10.	Baran	No
11.	Bansawara	No
12.	Chittorgarh	Yes
13.	Jaisalmer	No
14.	Karauli	Yes
15.	Nagaur	No
16.	Shri Ganganagar	Yes
17.	Sirohi	Yes
18.	Bundi	Yes
19.	SawaiMadhopur	No
20.	Tonk	No
21.	Hanumangarh	Yes
22.	Jhunjhunu	No
23.	Dausa	Yes