GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM & NATURAL GAS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.456 ANSWERED ON 24thJULY, 2023

CNG STATIONS IN THE STATE OF KARNATAKA

456 SHRI NARAYANA KORAGAPPA:

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) as per Minimum Work Programme, whether Ministry has to establish 893 CNG stationsin Karnataka;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether it is a fact that 250 CNG stations have been established out of targeted 893 stations as on date;
- (d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) the details of districts/cities where the 893 stations are proposed to be established andwhere 250 have so far been set up; and
- (f) the expected date by when target of 893 stations is going to be achieved?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS

(SHRI RAMESWAR TELI)

(a) to (f): Establishment of Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) stations is part of development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network and the same is carried out by the entities authorised by the Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB). After completion of 11A CGD bidding round, PNGRB has authorised 18 Geographical Areas (GAs) (including 1 GA spread over Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu &Karnataka and 1 GA spread over Telangana & Karnataka) covering the entire state of Karnataka for the development of CGD network. As per the Minimum Work Plan (MWP), the authorised entities have to establish 1,414 CNG stations in the state of Karnataka over the next 8-10 years. As on 31.05.2023, 312 CNG stations have been established. GA wise details of MWP target and achievement is at Annexure.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) TO (f) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 456 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.07.2023 REGARDING CNG STATIONS IN THE STATE OF KARNATAKA

GA-wise details of MWP target and achievement of CNG stations in Karnataka

S. No.	Geographical Areas/CGD Networks	CNG Stations (Nos.)	
		Total MWP Target	Achievement as on 31.05.2023
1.	Bengaluru Rural and Urban Districts	NA	89
2.	Tumkur District	NA	4
3.	Dharwad District	NA	6
4.	Belgaum District	NA	8
5.	Chitradurga&Davanagere Districts	42	15
6.	Udupi District	11	8
7.	Ballari&Gadag Districts	24	21
8.	Bidar District	4	10
9.	Dakshina Kannada District	100	28
10.	Ramanagara District	37	12
11.	Chittoor, Kolar and Vellore Districts	251	9
12.	Bagalkot, Koppal and Raichur Districts	114	24
13.	Chikkamagaluru, Hassan and Kodagu Districts	121	18
14.	Kalaburagi and Vijayapura Districts	62	16
15.	Mysuru, Mandya and Chamarajanagar Districts	171	23
16.	Uttara Kannada, Haveri and Shivamogga Districts	126	21
17.	Chikkaballapur district	81	0
18.	JogulambaGadwal, Nagarkurnool, Mahabubnagar, Narayanpet, Wanaparthy and Yadgir districts	270	0

Source-PNGRB