### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

## RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2681 ANSWERED ON 11.08.2023

#### AMRIT BHARAT STATIONS IN KARNATAKA

2681. SHRI NARAYANA KORAGAPPA:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that Railways has identified 55 stations in Karnataka to be developed as Amrit Bharat Stations (ABSs);
- (b) if so, the details of the stations identified and amenities, facilities, infrastructure, etc., going to be provided in the identified stations to make them ABSs;
- (c) whether any timeframe has been fixed to complete identified works in the above stations;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the details of budget allocation for Amrit Bharat Stations Scheme in 2023-24 Budget?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (e) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

**STATEMENT** REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2681 BY SHRI NARAYANA KORAGAPPA ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 11.08.2023 REGARDING AMRIT BHARAT STATIONS (ABS) IN KARNATAKA

(a) to (e) Railways have identified 56 numbers of Stations from the State of Karnataka to be developed under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme. The list of 56 stations identified to be taken up under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the State of Karnataka is given below:

State	Name of Stations	
Karnataka (56)	Almatti, Alnavar, Arsikere Junction, Badami, Bagalkot, Ballary, Bangalore Cantt., Bangarpet, Bantawala, Belagavi, Bidar, Bijapur, Chamaraja Nagar, Channapatna, Channasandra, Chikkamagaluru, Chikkodi Road, Chitradurga, Davangere, Dharwad, Dodballapur, Gadag, Gangapur Road, Ghataprabha, Gokak Road, Harihar, Hassan, Hosapete, Kalaburagi, Kengeri, Kopal, Krantivira Sangolli Rayanna (Bengaluru Station), Krishnarajapuram, Malleswaram, Malur, Mandya, Mangalore Central, Mangalore Jn., Munirabad, Mysore, Raichur, Ramanagaram, Ranibennur, Sagar Jambagaru, Sakleshpur, Shahabad, Shivamogga Town, Shree Siddharoodha Swamiji Hubballi Jn, Subramanya Road, Talguppa, Tiptur, Tumakuru, Wadi, Whitefield, Yadgir, Yesvantpur.	

The Amrit Bharat Station Scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach. It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, executive lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping etc. keeping in view the necessity at each such station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, 'Roof Plazas' as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centres at the station in the long term.

Development/redevelopment/upgradation of Railway Stations is complex in nature involving safety of passengers and trains and requires various statutory clearances from urban/local bodies etc. and these factors affect the completion time. Therefore, no time frame can be indicated at this stage.

Provision of Passenger amenities including Amrit Bharat Station Scheme are generally funded under Plan Head – 53 'Customer Amenities'. The details of allocation under Plan Head - 53 are maintained Zonal Railway-wise and not State-wise or work-wise. The State of Karnataka spreads across 04 Zones, namely Central Railway, Southern Railway, South Central Railway and South

Western Railway. The details of funds allocated during current year i.e. 2023-24 to these Railways under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities', are as under:

(Fig. in crore of ₹)

Zonal	2023-24
Railway	Allocation
Central	937.75
Southern	1242.58
South Central	961.86
South Western	468.21

\*\*\*\*