GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2543#

ANSWERED ON 10.08.2023

SELECTION OF CITIES UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN 2.0 SCHEME

2543# SHRI BRIJLAL:

Will the Minister of **TOURISM** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has selected 30 cities in 15 States to develop as holistic tourist destinations under the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 Scheme;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the State-wise names of these selected cities; and
- (c) the facilities that would be provided to the tourists in these destinations under Swadesh Darshan 2.0 and the total expenditure likely to be incurred thereon?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF TOURISM

(SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) to (c): The Ministry of Tourism has revamped its 'Swadesh Darshan' scheme as 'Swadesh Darshan 2.0 (SD2.0)' with the objective to develop sustainable and responsible tourism destinations. The Ministry of Tourism in consultation with the respective State Government and in line with the guidelines has identified 55 destinations for development under the scheme in the country, the list of which is annexed.

SD2.0 scheme guidelines include an illustrative list of components which can enhance tourism potential and include categories covering Tourism Core Products, Tourism Activities, Performing Art Infra, Health, Sanitation, safety, connectivity, wayside amenities, parking, general site development, sustainable tourism, soft interventions etc.

The Cabinet has approved the 'Swadesh Darshan' scheme for continuation till 31st March, 2026 for an amount of Rs.5000 Crore.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2543# ANSWERED ON 10.08.2023 REGARDING SELECTION OF CITIES UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN 2.0 SCHEME

LIST OF IDENTIFIED DESTINATONS UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME 2.0

S. N.	States/Union Territories	Destinations Identified
1	Andhra Pradesh	Gandikota, Arakku-Lambassingi
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Nacho, Mechuka
3	Assam	Jorhat, Kokrajhar
4	Bihar	Gaya, Nalanda
5	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur, Jagdalpur
6	Goa	Porvorim, Colva
7	Gujarat	Dholavira, Dwarka
8	Haryana	Panchkula (Morni)
9	Himachal Pradesh	Pong Dam
10	Jammu & Kashmir	Basholi
11	Jharkhand	Chandil
12	Karnataka	Hampi, Mysuru
13	Kerala	Kumarakom, Kozhikode (Beypore)
14	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior, Chitrakoot
15	Maharashtra	Sindhudurg
16	Manipur	Moirang (Bishnupur)
17	Meghalaya	Shillong, Sohra
18	Mizoram	Aizawl, Champhai
19	Nagaland	Niuland, Chumukedima
20	Odisha	Koraput
21	Punjab	Amritsar, Kapurthala
22	Rajasthan	Bundi (Keshoraipatan), Jodhpur
23	Sikkim	Gangtok, Gyalshing
24	Tamil Nadu	Mamallapuram, The Nilgiris
25	Telangana	Bhongir, Ananthagiri
26	Tripura	Agartala, Unakoti
27	Uttar Pradesh	Prayagraj, Naimisharanya
28	Uttarakhand	Pittoragarh, Champavat
29	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
30	Lakshadweep	Lakshadweep
31	Puducherry	Puducherry, Kariakal
32	Ladakh	Leh, Kargil
Total		55
