GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2449 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.08.2023

Control on SO₂ emission

2449. DR. AMEE YAJNIK:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government is aware of the analysis by the Center for Science and Environment (CSE) that presently only five per cent thermal power plants across the country are meeting the Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) emission norms, if so, the details of the reasons therefor and the action to be taken by G``overnment;
- (b) the number of thermal power plants in which FGD (Fluor Gas Desulphurisation) has been installed so far to control SO2 emissions, State-wise; and
- (c) by when the plant will be 100 per cent FGD (Fluor Gas Desulphurization) enabled?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

(SHRI ASHWINI KUMAR CHOUBEY)

(a) to (c): Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change vide notification dated 07.12.2015 stipulated norms for SO₂ emission apart from other pollutants for coal-fired thermal power plants.

The implementation of the emission norms, requiring installation of Flue-Gas Desulphurisation (FGD) technology, got delayed due to various techno-economic constraints faced by thermal power plants and further affected by the impact of COVID-19 pandemic. Considering these constraints, the Central Government initially decided for phased implementation of FGDs with maximum timelines up to December 2022, and later vide notifications *vide* dated 31.03.2021 and 05.09.2022 granted further extension of time limit for implementation of the new emission norms for SO₂ parameter up to December 2024, December 2025 and December 2026 for Category A, B and C plants, respectively, based on plant's location.

As per the status up to July 2023, 19 thermal power plants units have installed Wet scrubbing (wet FGD) and 4 thermal power plants units have installed Dry Sorbent Injection (DSI) system for flue gas desulphurization. State wise list of these 23 thermal power plants units is at **Annexure-I**.

In order to ensure compliance with the new emission norms and accelerate the adoption of pollution control measures, the notification dated 05.09.2022 prescribes for imposition of environmental compensation on non-compliant coal-fired thermal power plants.

<u>Annexure – I</u>
<u>State-wise list of 23 thermal power plants units which have installed Wet FGD/DSI</u>
<u>systems</u>

Sl. No.	State	No. of Units	Name of TPP and Unit Nos.	SO ₂ emission
110.		Units		control
				technology
1.	Gujarat	03	Adani Power Mundra TPS (U – 7, 8, 9)	Wet FGD
2.	Haryana	02	Mahatma Gandhi TPS, CLP Jhajjar (U	Wet FGD
			- 1 & 2)	
3.	Madhya	01	Vindhyachal STPS, NTPC Ltd. (U –	Wet FGD
	Pradesh		13)	
		01	Khargone STPP, NTPC Ltd. (Unit – 1)	Wet FGD
4.	Maharashtra	04	JSW Ratnagiri TPS (U – 1, 2, 3, 4)	Wet FGD
		02	Adani Dahanu TPS (U – 1 & 2)	
		02	Tata Power Trombay TPS (U – 5 & 8)	
5.	Tamilnadu	02	IL&FS TNPCL (U – 1 & 2)	Wet FGD
6.	Uttar Pradesh	05	NCTPS Dadri, NTPC Ltd. (U – 1, 2, 3	DSI
			& 4)	
			NCTPS Dadri, NTPC Ltd. (U – 5)	Wet FGD
		01	Unchahar TPS, NTPC Ltd. (U-6)	Wet FGD
	Total	23		