GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DEPARTMENT OF ATOMIC ENERGY RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2403 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.08.2023

Re-constitution of the Board of AEC and AERB

2403 Shri R. Girirajan:

Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state:

- a) whether Government has any plans to reconstitute the Board of Atomic Energy Commission and Atomic Energy Regulatory Board and if so, the details thereof and reasons therefor;
- b) the composition and term of office of both AEC and AERB; and
- c) whether Government has any scheme of action to recognise the services of outstanding scientists retired from Department of Atomic Energy and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS AND PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH):

(a) Atomic Energy Commission:

The AEC is reconstituted on the basis of advice by the Hon'ble Prime Minister who is the Minister-in-charge for the Department of Atomic Energy.

The AEC was last reconstituted when Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty, Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre was appointed as Secretary, DAE who is also the ex-officio Chairman of AEC.

Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB):

Consequent on the appointment of new Chairman, AERB on 01/01/2023, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) has been reconstituted under Notification No.11/01/03/2023-ER/891 dated 28.03.2023.

(b) The present composition and term of office of AEC and AERB are as under.

Present composition and term of office of AEC:

1	Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty,	Chairman (ex-officio)
	Secretary to the Government of India	
	Department of Atomic Energy	
2	Shri Ajit Kumar Doval,	Member
	National Security Advisor	
3	Dr. Pramod Kumar Mishra,	Member
	Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister	
4	Shri Rajiv Gauba,	Member
	Cabinet Secretary	
5	Shri Vinay Mohan Kwatra,	Member
	Foreign Secretary	
6	Dr. T.V. Somanathan	Member
	Secretary, Department of Expenditure	
7	Ms. Seema Jain,	Member Finance
	Member-Finance,	(Approved by ACC w.e.f.
	Space & Earth Commission	01.08.2023)
8	Dr. M.R. Srinivasan	Member
	Former Chairman, AEC	
9	Prof. P. Rama Rao,	Member
	Former Secretary,	
	Dept. of Science & Technology	
10	Dr. Anil Kakodkar,	Member
	Chancellor, Homi Bhabha National Institute,	
	Chairman, Rajiv Gandhi Science &	
	Technology Commission	
1.1	and Former Chairman, AEC) M 1
11	Dr. Ravi B. Grover,	Member
	Emeritus Professor,	
10	Homi Bhabha National Institute	76 1
12	Dr. K. Kasturirangan,	Member
	Former Chairman, Space Commission &	
	Former Member, Planning Commission	

The term of members of AEC is decided as advised by the Hon'ble Prime Minister who is the Minister in-charge for the Department of Atomic Energy.

Present composition and term of office of AERB:

1	Shri Dinesh Kumar Shukla	Chairman
2	Shri S.B. Chafle, Chairman, Safety Review Committee for Operating Plants (SARCOP)	Ex-officio Member
3	Dr. Harsh K. Gupta, Professor Emeritus President, Geological Society of India National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad	Member
4	Dr. G.K. Rath, Chief, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Institute Rotary Cancer Hospital & Head, National Cancer Institute, Jhajjar (NIC), All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi	Member
5	Prof. Devang V. Khakhar, Former Director, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Mumbai Department of Chemical Engineering, IIT, Mumbai	Member
6	Prof. (Mrs) M. Lakshmi Kantam, Dr. B.P. Godraj Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai	Member

The Board is re-constituted whenever there is change in the appointment of any of the Board Member (including Chairman).

- (c) Department of Atomic Energy has following Schemes to recognise services of retired scientists.
 - i) Raja Ramanna Chair (erstwhile Raja Ramanna Fellowship Scheme) to utilize the services of active retired scientists, engineers and technologists who have been involved in high quality research in their specialized disciplines in the units of DAE or any national laboratory or university or institute and who after retirement are keen to carry out R&D in the field of their choice and of interest to Department of Atomic Energy.
 - ii) DAE Homi Bhabha Chair for Distinguished Scientists / Professors Scheme to give recognition and an opportunity to outstanding scientists and engineers including those retired and superannuated scientists/ engineers who were

involved in the development of sensitive and / or critical technologies to carry out research and development work in the field of their choice and of interest to the Department of Atomic Energy.
