GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2287

ANSWERED ON- 09/08/2023

Key initiative taken under UBA in Andhra Pradesh

2287 Shri Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar:

Will the Minister of *Education* be pleased to state:

- (a) details of key initiative undertaken under Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (UBA) in the State of Andhra Pradesh;
- (b) details of Institutions that have been identified under Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (UBA) in the State of Andhra Pradesh; and
- (c) details of rural areas which have been given special focus under Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (UBA) in the State of Andhra Pradesh?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR. SUBHAS SARKAR)

- (a): Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (UBA) connects students and faculty from Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in the country with the villages and local communities for identifying challenges faced by the rural communities and providing appropriate solutions to them. The key initiatives undertaken under UBA cover the five themes of organic farming; water resource management; artisans, industries and livelihood; basic amenities (infrastructure & services) and renewable energy system. The initiatives in Andhra Pradesh cover projects such as mobile healthcare app; development of digital classes; agriculture drone system; smart solar toilet light; solar power fencing for crop protection for farmers; water harvesting; treatment of water to make it potable; automated hydroponic farming; thread winding machine for weavers; zero budget natural farming in drought affected villages; etc.
- (b): Andhra Pradesh has two Regional Coordinating Institutes (RCIs), namely Andhra University and Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University (SVVU), Tirupati, besides a network of 221 Participating Institutes (PIs). These PIs, through their students & faculty, are currently working in 1105 villages of the State. Details of the

Institutes under UBA are placed at <a href="https://unnatbharatabhiyan.gov.in/list-participating-institutes?csrf_uba=3eacbc333536dfe2827d2c639ef8e63c&aishe_code=&institute_id=&state_id=2&district_id=&submitSearch=

(c): The details such as the District, PIs and the villages adopted by each of the 221 PIs in the State of Andhra Pradesh are available at the link provided at Part (b) above. The Districts and the villages covered under the fifteen technological intervention proposals of UBA are tabulated below:

SI No.	Name of the District	Villages
1.	Srikakulam	Bejjipuram, Patavaraka, Ponduru
2.	Vizianagaram	Chintalavalasa
3.	Krishna	Pothavarappadu, Chinna Agripalli, Thothapalli and
		Boddanapalli
4.	Nandyala	Kowlur, Bheemunipadu,
5.	Kurnool	Alamur,
6.	Visakhapatnam	Gorapalli, Nammivanipeta, Dopperla, Yarravaram,
		Tantadi, Dosuru, Uppavaram,
7.	West Godavari	Palakoderu
