GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1715** ANSWERED ON 03/08/2023

ZONAL CULTURAL CENTERS

1715 # SHRI BRIJLAL:

Will the Minister of Culture be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has established seven Zonal Cultural Centers (ZCC) in the country and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) aims and objectives of establishing these centers and the States where these centres have been/will be established;
- (c) amount sanctioned and released by the Central Government for setting up these centres; and
- (d) additional steps taken by Government to promote art and culture in the country?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF CULTURE, TOURISM AND DEVELOPMENT OF NORTH EASTERN REGION

(SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) & (b) Yes Sir. The Government of India has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) in the country with headquarters at Patiala (Punjab), Nagpur (Maharashtra), Udaipur (Rajasthan), Prayagraj (Uttar Pradesh), Kolkata (West Bengal), Dimapur (Nagaland) and Thanjavur (Tamil Nadu) to protect, promote and preserve various forms of folk art & culture throughout the country and also to set up mechanism for development of the cultures of various regions. The mandate behind setting up of these ZCCs was to bind the nation culturally while retaining the individuality of the regions that comprise them. The aims and objectives of establishing these ZCCs are:

- to preserve and promote the projection and dissemination of arts in the concerned zone;
- to develop and promote their rich cultural diversity;
- to encourage folk & tribal arts and preservation of vanishing arts;
- to involve youth in creative cultural communication and lay special emphasis on the linkages between different areas and their contribution to Indian culture.

(c) A Corpus Fund was provided to each ZCC towards cost of equipment and infrastructure including buildings. Government of India provided Rs. 10.00 crore each to all the seven ZCCs in 7th & 10th Plan. During 2014-15, an additional amount of Rs. 10.00 crore each was provided to six (6) ZCCs viz. North Zone Cultural Centre, Patiala; South Zone Cultural Centre, Thanjavur; South Central Zone Cultural Centre, Nagpur; West Zone Cultural Centre, Udaipur; North Central Zone Cultural Centre, Prayagraj & Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre, Kolkata and Rs. 20.00 crore was provided to North East Zone Cultural Centre (NEZCC), Dimapur towards corpus enhancement. All the administrative expenses of these ZCCs are being met by the interest accrued on this Corpus Fund. Land required by each Centre was provided free of cost by the State Governments wherein the headquarters of ZCCs are located.

(d) For promotion of art & culture in the country, these ZCCs organize various cultural activities and programmes on regular basis throughout the year for which annual grant-in-aid is provided to them for this purpose. Besides, Ministry of Culture also organizes Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsavs (RSMs) through these ZCCs where a large number of artists from all over India are engaged who showcase their talents during these programmes. From November, 2015 onwards, fourteen (14) RSMs have been organized by Ministry of Culture across the country. In addition, a minimum number of 42 Regional Festivals are organized by these ZCCs every year for promotion of art and culture.
