GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT OF SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 137

ANSWERED ON 20/07/2023

VIGYAN JYOTI PROGRAMME

137. SHRI B. PARTHASARADHI REDDY:

Will the Minister of SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) State-wise data on the number of girl students who are currently the beneficiaries of the Vigyan Jyoti programme;
- (b) State-wise data on the number of districts in which the programme is currently being implemented;
- (c) whether Government plans to increase the coverage of the programme to more districts; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof, if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

(a) & (b) Vigyan Jyoti Programme is currently implemented in 250 Districts of 34 States/UTs of the country wherein 21652 meritorious girls of Class X-XII are enrolled and getting benefits of various year-round activities. The State-wise data of number of beneficiary girl students and districts where programme is currently in implementation is given below:

State/UTs	Phase-IV	
	Districts	No. of girl students
Andaman and Nicobar	1	100
Andhra Pradesh	9	688
Arunachal Pradesh	4	229
Assam	11	919
Bihar	10	848
Chandigarh	1	100

Chhattisgarh	11	1044
Dadar, Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu	2	200
Delhi	2	141
Goa	1	98
Gujarat	14	1110
Haryana	9	899
Himachal Pradesh	9	856
Jammu and Kashmir	8	587
Jharkhand	11	978
Karnataka	11	948
Kerala	9	778
Ladakh	1	92
Madhya Pradesh	13	1172
Maharashtra	15	1410
Manipur	4	289
Meghalaya	3	300
Mizoram	1	90
Nagaland	1	23
Odisha	11	1067
Puducherry	4	400
Punjab	11	1002
Rajasthan	13	1234
Sikkim	2	154
Telangana	8	585
Tripura	3	208
Uttarakhand	9	788
Uttar Pradesh	17	1362
West Bengal	11	953
Total	250	21652

⁽c) Yes Sir, Government is increasing the coverage of the programme to more districts.

(d) Recently, the Vigyan Jyoti Programme is extended in 50 more districts in its fourth Phase and now programme is in implementation in 250 districts of the country. Following is the State-wise list of newly added districts:

State/UTs	Districts	
Andhra Pradesh	Guntur, Kadapa	
Bihar	Buxar, East Champaran	
Chhattisgarh	Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, Korea	
Gujarat	Amreli, Dangs, Panchmahal, Dahod	
Haryana	Faridabad, Jind, Sonepat	
Himachal Pradesh	Sirmour	
Jammu & Kashmir	Kupwara, Reasi, Rajouri	
Jharkhand	Deoghar, Koderma	
Karnataka	Bijapur, Davangree	
Kerala	Kollam, Wynad	
Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal, Chhindwara, Rajgarh	
Maharashtra	Amravati, Beed, Gadchiroli, Ratnagiri	
Odisha	Balasore, Malkangiri, Puri	
Punjab	Moga, Pathankot, Taran-Taaran, S.B.S. Nagar	
Rajasthan	Banswara, Bhilwara, Chittorgarh	
Telangana	Mahaboob Nagar, Khammam, Nizamabad	
Uttar Pradesh	Bagpat, Chitrakoot, Faizabad	
Uttarakhand	Pithoragarh, Uttarkashi	
West Bengal	Bankura	
