### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AYUSH

## RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.- 1287 TO BE ANSWERED ON 1<sup>ST</sup> AUGUST 2023

#### "AYUSH COLLEGES IN MADHYA PRADESH"

#### 1287 # SHRI KAILASH SONI:

Will the Minister of **AYUSH** be pleased to state:

"Whether Government would formulate a special action plan to set up Ayush colleges in all the districts of Madhya Pradesh?"

# ANSWER MINISTRY OF AYUSH (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

At present, no such proposal is under consideration by the Central Government to formulate a special action plan to set up AYUSH Medical Colleges in all the Districts of Madhya Pradesh. However, at present, 62 AYUSH Colleges are already existing in Madhya Pradesh and detail is placed at **Annexure I**.

Further, Public Health being a State subject, setting up of AYUSH Medical Colleges in Madhya Pradesh comes under the purview of State/UT Governments. However, under the Centrally Sponsored Scheme of the National Ayush Mission (NAM), there are provisions for financial assistance for establishing new AYUSH Colleges in the States where availability of AYUSH teaching institutions is inadequate in the Government Sector. The State/UT Governments may avail of eligible financial assistance by submitting suitable proposals through State Annual Action Plans (SAAPs) as per the provisions of NAM guidelines.

In addition to this, it is also informed that the National Commission for Indian System of Medicine (NCISM) and the National Commission for Homoeopathy (NCH) are the regulatory authorities for medical education & institutes under the AYUSH system of medicine across the Country.

\*\*\*\*

## Annexure-I

List of Existing Ayurveda, Unani and Homeopathy Colleges in Madhya Pradesh (District-wise)				
Sr. No.	District	Ayurveda Colleges	Unani Colleges	Homoeopathy colleges
1.	Gwalior	1	0	4
2.	Jabalpur	3	0	2
3.	Ujjain	1	0	0
4.	Ratlam	1	0	1
5.	Burhanpur	1	1	0
6.	Indore	3	1	2
7.	Rewa	1	0	0
8.	Satna	1	0	0
9.	Bhopal	15	1	8
10.	Betul	1	0	0
11.	Mandsaur	1	0	0
12.	Raisen	1	0	0
13.	Sehore	2	0	1
14.	Dewas	0	1	0
15.	Balaghat	1	0	1
16.	Dhar	0	0	1
17.	Sagar	0	0	1
18.	Bhind	0	0	1
19.	Chattarpur	0	0	1
20.	Barwani	0	0	2
	Total	33	4	25