GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1079 ANSWERED ON 28.07.2023

MERGER OF MANGALURU REGION WITH SWR ZONE

1079 SHRI NARAYANA KORAGAPPA:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether it is a fact that proposed merger of Mangaluru Region including Thokur with South Western Railway (SWR) Zone was approved by Government in 2003;

- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the stretch from Thokur to Karwar will be brought under SWR zone;
- (d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) by when Vande Bharat train between KSR-Bengaluru and Mangaluru would commence;

(f) whether all Train Ticket Examiners (TTE) have been equipped with Hand-held Terminal (HHT) in SWR; and

(g) if so, the details thereof, division-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (g): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (g) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1079 BY SHRI NARAYANA KORAGAPPA ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 28.07.2023 REGARDING MERGER OF MANGALURU REGION WITH SWR ZONE

(a) & (b): Transfer of Thokur station from Konkan Railway to South Western Railway (SWR) was initially agreed to by Railway Board subject to certain conditions. However, after detailed deliberation and duly considering the operational requirements, it was decided that status quo may be maintained in this matter.

(c): There is no such proposal as on date.

(d): Does not arise.

(e): Presently, 06 pairs of trains are catering to the needs of Bengaluru-Mangaluru sector. As on 24.07.2023, 50 Vande Bharat services are being operated serving various sectors of Indian Railways' network. Besides, introduction of new Vande Bharat services, is an ongoing process on Indian Railways subject to operational feasibility, traffic justification, etc.

(f) & (g): At present 881 ticket checking staff are on roll of SWR. 687 Hand Held Terminals (HHTs) have been provided to ticket checking staff over SWR as per details given below:-

Zonal Railway	Division	No. of HHTs issued
SWR	Hubballi	201
	Bengaluru	361
	Mysuru	125
	Total	687
