GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 892 TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.02.2023

ALL-INDIA COVERAGE OF ESIC SCHEME

892. SHRI DIGVIJAYA SINGH:

SHRI K.C. VENUGOPAL:

DR. AMEE YAJNIK:

SHRI SYED NASIR HUSSAIN:

Will the Minister of Labour and Employment be pleased to state:

- (a)whether the country is on track to meet the Government's target of extending the Employees' State Insurance Corporation (ESIC) scheme to all districts across the country by the end of 2022;
- (b) the details of progress made under the Scheme since 2018, State-wise and year-wise; and
- (c) the details of progress made on the Government's target of bringing unorganized sector workers within the coverage of the ESIC, Statewise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT (SHRI RAMESWAR TELI)

(a) to (c): As on 01.02.2023, the Employees' State Insurance (ESI) scheme is notified in all the states and union territories, except in the union territory of Lakshadweep. Out of the 744 districts of the country, the ESI scheme is extended in 609 districts, which include 481 fully covered and 128 partially covered districts under the scheme. The state-wise details of the ESI coverage extended in districts since 2018 is placed at Annexure.

The Employees' State Insurance (ESI) Act, 1948 is applicable to the factories and establishments having ten or more employees, drawing wages up to Rs.21000/- (Rs. 25,000/- for persons with disabilities). As such, the Act does not apply to the unorganised sector.

In the Code on Social Security 2020, provision of benefits to the unorganized sector is contained in Section 45 and Section 109 of the Code whereby the Central Government and the State Governments can frame scheme for unorganized workers.

* *****

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) & (c) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 892 FOR 09.02.2023 BY SHRI DIGVIJAYA SINGH AND OTHERS REGARDING All-INDIA COVERAGE OF ESIC SCHEME

The state-wise details of the ESI coverage extended in districts since 2018-19

(As on 01.02.2023)

Sl. No.	Name of State	As on 31.03.201		2018-19		2019-20		2020-21		2021-22		2022-23		As on 01.02.2023	
		Fully notifie d district s	notifie	notified districts	Partially notified districts	Fully notified districts	Partially notified districts	notified	Partiall y notified district s	Fully notified districts		notified		Fully Notifie Districts	dPartially notified districts
1.	Andhra Pradesh	13	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	13	0
2.	Bihar	16	0	0	0	0	22	0	0	0	0	0	0	16	22
3.	Chhattisgarh	10	17	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	11	17
4.	Goa	2	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2	0
5.	Gujarat	0	19	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	18
6.	Haryana	22	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	22	0
7.	Himachal Pradesh	7	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	5	0	12	0
8.	Jharkhand	9	15	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	9	15
9.	Karnataka	30	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	31	0
10.	Kerala	14	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	14	0
11.	Madhya Pradesh	22	29	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	5	0	27	24
12.	Maharashtra	22	0	0	9	0	0	0	0	3	0	9	0	34	0
13.	Odisha	20	3	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	7	0	26	2
14.	Punjab	0	21	0	0	21	1	0	0	0	0	1	0	23	0
15.	Rajasthan	33	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	33	0
16.	Tamilnadu	1	30	2	0	5	0	3	0	8	0	10	0	31	6
17.	Telangana	10	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	33	0
18.	Uttar Pradesh		0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	41	1
19.	Uttarakhand	6	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	6	0
20.	West Bengal	14	2	0	0	1	0	0	0	6	0	0	0	23	0
21.	Arunachal Pradesh	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	1	0
22.	Assam	6	17	0	0	0	1	0	0	27	0	1	0	34	0
23.	Manipur	0	0	0	2	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2
24.	Meghalaya	0	2	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2
25.	Mizoram	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	0	1	0
26.	Nagaland	0	1	0	1	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	4
27.	Sikkim	0	1	2	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2	0
28.	Tripura	1	4	0	0	0	0	3	0	4	0	0	0	8	0
29.	Andaman 8 Nicobar Islands	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1
30.	Chandigarh	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	0

SI. No.	Name of	As on 31.03.201 8		2018-19		2019-20		2020-21		2021-22		2022-23		As on 01.02.2023	
	State														
		Fully	Partial		Partially		Partially		Partiall		Partially			Fully Notified	
		notifie	,		notified	notified		notified	_					Districts	notified
				districts	districts	districts	districts			districts	districts	districts	districts		districts
		district	a district						district						
		0	uistrict S						0						
	Dadra and Nagar Haveli		0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	3	0
	Nagar Haveli & Daman &														
31.	Diu														
32.	Jammu & Kashmir	8	14	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	8	12
33.	Ladakh			0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2
34.	Delhi	11	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	11	0
35.	Lakshadweep	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0
36.	Puducherry	3	1	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	4	0
	Total	325	178	6	13	27	25	7	0	48	0	39	0	481	128
