### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 373 TO BE ANSWERED ON FEBRUARY 06, 2023

#### **SMART CITIES MISSION**

#### NO. 373. SHRI KUMAR KETKAR:

#### Will the Minister of *Housing and Urban Affairs* be pleased to state:

- (a) the definition of Smart City;
- (b) the amount allocated for the Smart Cities Mission (SCM);
- (c) the amount spent as on date;
- (d) the number of cities converted into the Smart City till today, the name of cities and the year of completion;
- (e) the number of cities listed for Smart City, the name of such cities and their State; and
- (f) the amount spent for the publicity and advertisements in various medium, the year-wise expenses on publicity?

#### ANSWER

#### THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI KAUSHAL KISHORE)

(a) to (f) : In the approach to the Smart Cities Mission (SCM), the objective is to promote cities that provide core infrastructure and give a decent quality of life to its citizens, a clean and sustainable environment and application of `Smart' solutions.

Government of India launched SCM on 25 June 2015. 100 Smart Cities have been selected through 4 rounds of competition from January 2016 to June 2018. The State-wise list of 100 Smart Cities is given in <u>Annexure-I</u>. As per SCM Guidelines, Central Government will provide financial support to the extent of ₹ 48,000 crore over five years i.e., on an average ₹ 100 crore per city per year. An equal amount on a matching basis will be contributed by the State Government/Urban Local Body (ULB).

As on 27 January 2023, out of 7,804 projects worth  $\gtrless$  1,81,322 crore for which work orders have been issued in the 100 smart cities, 5,246 projects worth  $\gtrless$  98,796 crore have been completed. Government of India has released  $\gtrless$  36,447 crore under SCM of which  $\gtrless$  32,095 crore (88%) has been utilized. The period of implementation of SCM has been extended upto June 2023 and all Smart Cities are expected to complete their projects within the stipulated time.

The implementation of SCM at the city level is done by a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) created for the purpose. The SPVs plan, implement, operate, monitor, and evaluate their Smart City projects. These SPVs are Board-run entities owned by State Governments/Urban Local Bodies and spend, inter alia, on publicity and advertisement in various medium as per their requirements, the information of which is not centrally maintained under SCM.

# Annexure-I in reply to Parts (a) to (f) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 373 for answer on 06.02.2023 regarding Smart Cities Mission asked by Shri Kumar Ketkar, Hon'ble MP.

#### State/UT-wise/Round-wise list of 100 Smart Cities

#### Round-I (January 2016)

S. No.	State/Union Territory	City
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kakinada
2.	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam
3.	Assam	Guwahati
4.	Delhi	NDMC
5.	Gujarat	Ahmedabad
6.	Gujarat	Surat
7.	Karnataka	Belagavi
8.	Karnataka	Davanagere
9.	Kerala	Kochi
10.	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal
11.	Madhya Pradesh	Indore
12.	Madhya Pradesh	Jabalpur
13.	Maharashtra	Pune
14.	Maharashtra	Solapur
15.	Odisha	Bhubaneswar
16.	Punjab	Ludhiana
17.	Rajasthan	Jaipur
18.	Rajasthan	Udaipur
19.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai
20.	Tamil Nadu	Coimbatore

#### Fast Track Round (May-2016)

S. No.	State/Union Territory	City
1.	Andaman Nicobar Islands	Port Blair
2.	Bihar	Bhagalpur
3.	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
4.	Chhattisgarh	Raipur
5.	Goa	Panaji
6.	Haryana	Faridabad
7.	Himachal Pradesh	Dharamshala
8.	Jharkhand	Ranchi
9.	Manipur	Imphal
10.	Telangana	Greater Warangal
11.	Tripura	Agartala
12.	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow
13.	West Bengal	New Town Kolkata

#### Round-II (September-2016)

S. No.	State/Union Territory	City
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Tirupati
2.	Gujarat	Vadodara
3.	Karnataka	Hubballi-Dharwad
4.	Karnataka	Mangaluru

5.	Karnataka	Shivamogga
6.	Karnataka	Tumakuru
7.	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior
8.	Madhya Pradesh	Ujjain
9.	Maharashtra	Aurangabad
10.	Maharashtra	Kalyan-Dombivali
11.	Maharashtra	Nagpur
12.	Maharashtra	Nashik
13.	Maharashtra	Thane
14.	Nagaland	Kohima
15.	Odisha	Rourkela
16.	Punjab	Amritsar
17.	Punjab	Jalandhar
18.	Rajasthan	Ajmer
19.	Rajasthan	Kota
20.	Sikkim	Namchi
21.	Tamil Nadu	Madurai
22.	Tamil Nadu	Salem
23.	Tamil Nadu	Thanjavur
24.	Tamil Nadu	Vellore
25.	Uttar Pradesh	Agra
26.	Uttar Pradesh	Kanpur
27.	Uttar Pradesh	Varanasi

# Round-III (June-2017)

S. No.	State/Union Territory	City
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Amaravati
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	Pasighat
3.	Bihar	Muzaffarpur
4.	Bihar	Patna
5.	Chhattisgarh	Atal Nagar
6.	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur
7.	Gujarat	Dahod
8.	Gujarat	Gandhinagar
9.	Gujarat	Rajkot
10.	Haryana	Karnal
11.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
12.	Jammu and Kashmir	Jammu
13.	Jammu and Kashmir	Srinagar
14.	Karnataka	Bengaluru
15.	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
16.	Madhya Pradesh	Sagar
17.	Madhya Pradesh	Satna
18.	Maharashtra	Pimpri-Chinchwad
19.	Mizoram	Aizawl
20.	Puducherry	Puducherry
21.	Sikkim	Gangtok
22.	Tamil Nadu	Thoothukudi
23.	Tamil Nadu	Tiruchirappalli
24.	Tamil Nadu	Tirunelveli
25.	Tamil Nadu	Tiruppur
26.	Telangana	Karimnagar
27.	Uttar Pradesh	Aligarh
28.	Uttar Pradesh	Jhansi

29.	Uttar Pradesh	Prayagraj
30.	Uttarakhand	Dehradun

## Round-IV (January-2018)

S. No.	State/Union Territory	City
1.	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar
2.	Bihar	Biharsharif
3.	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	Silvassa
4.	Daman and Diu	Diu
5.	Lakshadweep	Kavaratti
6.	Meghalaya	Shillong*
7.	Tamil Nadu	Erode
8.	Uttar Pradesh	Bareilly
9.	Uttar Pradesh	Moradabad
10.	Uttar Pradesh	Saharanpur

\* Shillong was selected in June, 2018