### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS

#### **RAJYA SABHA**

#### **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3639**

ANSWERED ON- 03.04.2023

#### USE OF CNG/PNG TO CONTROL POLLUTION IN RAJASTHAN

3639 # SHRI RAJENDRA GEHLOT:

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government is planning to promote the use of CNG/PNG to control pollution in the state of Rajasthan, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the districts of Rajasthan where such CNG/PNG facility has been provided till date; and
- (c) whether Government proposes to start CNG/PNG facilitation centres in Rajasthan, if so, the district-wise details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI RAMESWAR TELI)

(a) & (b): Providing Piped Natural Gas (PNG) connections and establishment of Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) station are part of the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) Network and the same is being carried out by the entities authorised by Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB). In order to increase usage of clean fuel, thereby reducing pollution across the country, PNGRB has authorized 297 Geographical Areas (GAs) covering about 98% of the population and 88% of total geographical area of the country spread over around 630 districts in 28 states/UTs, including 17 GAs (including 4 GAs spread over neighbouring Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Punjab) covering entire state of Rajasthan.

List of GAs with status of PNG/CNG facilities in the state of Rajasthan is at Annexure.

(c): No Sir.

\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) & (b) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3639 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.04.2023 REGARDING USE OF CNG/PNG TO CONTROL POLLUTION IN RAJASTHAN.

## List of GAs in the state of Rajasthan

S.No	Geographical Area/ CGD Networks	State	Status of CNG/PNG facilities available as on 31.01.2023
1.	Kota	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
2.	Barmer, Jaisalmer & Jodhpur Districts	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
3.	Alwar (Other than Bhiwadi) & Jaipur Districts	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
4.	Kota District (EAAA), Baran & Chittorgarh (Only Rawatbhata Taluka) Districts	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
5.	Bhilwara & Bundi Districts	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
6.	Chittorgarh (Other than Rawatbhata Taluka) & Udaipur Districts	Rajasthan	CNG
7.	Dholpur District	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
8.	Ajmer, Pali and Rajsamand Districts	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
9.	Jalore and Sirohi Districts	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
10.	Bhiwadi (in Alwar District)	Rajasthan	CNG/PNG
11.	Bikaner and Churu districts	Rajasthan	NA*
12.	Jhunjhunu, Sikar and Nagaur districts	Rajasthan	CNG
13.	Dausa, Karauli, Sawai Madhopur and Tonk districts	Rajasthan	NA*
14.	Jhabua, Banswara, Ratlam and Dungarpur Districts	Madhya Pradesh and Rajashthan	CNG/PNG
15.	Agar Malwa, Neemuch, Mandsaur and Jhalawar districts	Madhya Pradesh and Rajashthan	NA*
16.	Fazilka (except area already authorized), Ganganagar and Hanumangarh districts	Punjab & Rajasthan	NA*
17.	Firozabad (Taj Trapezium Zone)	Uttar Pradesh & Rajasthan	CNG/PNG

<sup>\*</sup> Not applicable as these GAs have been recently authorized.

Source: PNGRB