GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- # 3338** TO BE ANSWERED ON- 29/03/2023

INCLUSION OF NEW CASTES INTO TRIBAL CATEGORY

3338 # SMT. GEETA ALIAS CHANDRAPRABHA:

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) whether new castes have been included in the tribal category by changing the category of castes in the country;

(b) if so, the details of the castes included in the tribal category, State-wise; and

(c) the castes that are included in the tribal category in Uttar Pradesh, district-wise details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) to (c): The Government of India on 15.6.1999 (further amended on 25.6.2002 and 14.9.2022) has approved the modalities for deciding the claims for inclusion in, exclusion from and other modifications in the Orders specifying lists of Scheduled Tribes. According to these modalities, only those proposals which have been recommended and justified, along with ethnographic details by the State Government/UT Administration concerned, can be processed further. Thereafter, it has to be concurred with by the Registrar General of India (RGI) and the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST) before being considered for amendment legislation. All actions are taken as per these approved modalities.

Proposals for inclusion and other amendments in the list of Scheduled Tribes of any State/Union Territory are processed in accordance with these modalities, which is an ongoing process. There are a few instances when the category of the community may be changed from one category to another, since the list of SCs, STs and OBCs are mutually exclusive. Scheduled Tribe list of Uttar Pradesh is attached at **Annexure I**.

Annexure I referred to in reply to part (a) to (c) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3338 to be answered on 29.03.2023

Scheduled Tribe list of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh

- 1. Bhotia
- 2. Buksa
- 3. Jaunsari
- 4. Raji
- 5. Tharu
- Gond, Dhuria, Nayak, Ojha, Pathari, Raj Gond (in the districts of Mehrajganj, Sidharth Nagar, Basti, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Mau, Azamgarh, Jonpur, Balia, Gazipur, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Sonbhadra, Sant Kabir Nagar, Kushinagar, Chandauli and Bhadohi)
- Kharwar, Khairwar (in the districts of Deoria, Balia, Ghazipur, Varanasi and Sonbhadra)
- 8. Saharya (in the district of Lalitpur)
- Parahiya (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 10. Baiga (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 11. Pankha, Panika (in the districts of Sonbhadra and Mirzapur)
- 12. Agariya (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 13. Patari (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 14. Chero (in the districts of Sonbhadra and Varanasi)
- 15. Bhuiya, Bhuinya (in the district of Sonbhadra)

उत्तर प्रदेश

- भोटिया
- 2. बुक्सा
- 3. जौनसारी
- 4. राजी
- 5. থাৰু
- गोंड, धुरिया, नायक, ओझा, पठारी, राज गोंड (महाराजगंज, सिद्धार्थ नगर, बस्ती, गोरखपुर, देवरिया, मऊ, आजमगढ़, जौनपुर, बलिया, गाजीपुर, वाराणसी, मिर्जापुर, सोनभद्र, संत कबीर नगर, कुशीनगर, चंदौली और भदोही जिलों में)

- खरवार, खैरवार (देवरिया, बलिया, गाजीपुर, वाराणसी और सोनभद्र जिलों में)
- 8. सहरया (ललितपुर जिले में)
- 9. पराहिया (सोनभद्र जिले में)
- 10. बैगा (सोनभद्र जिले में)
- 11. पंखा, पनिका (सोनभद्र और मिर्जापुर जिलों में)
- 12. अगरिया (सोनभद्र जिले में)
- 13. पटारी, पथरिया (केवल सोनभद्र जिले में)
- 14. चेरो (सोनभद्र और वाराणसी जिलों में)
- 15. भुइया, भुनिया (केवल सोनभद्र जिले में)