# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

#### **RAJYA SABHA**

# **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- 2422**

ANSWERED ON- 22/03/2023

## **Fake Universities in the country**

### 2422 Shri Vaiko:

Will the Minister of *Education* be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the University Grants Commission has declared 21 universities as 'fake' and not empowered to confer any degree, if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (b) whether the Commission warned students against taking admission in these unrecognised institutions which are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act;
- (c) the details of action taken to curb such fake institutions; and
- (d) the steps being taken to punish the fake universities and penalty imposed till now since 2018 onwards, the details thereof, State-wise?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR. SUBHAS SARKAR)

- (a) to (d): The State/UT wise details of fake universities are available at the University Grants Commission (UGC)'s website <a href="https://www.ugc.gov.in/page/Fake-Universities.aspx">https://www.ugc.gov.in/page/Fake-Universities.aspx</a>. The latest list contains name of 21 fake universities. At the beginning of every academic session, UGC issues Public Notices and Press Release about this in National Hindi and English Newspapers to warn the aspiring students, guardians and the public at large not to take admission in the courses run by them. In addition, UGC writes letters to Chief Secretaries and Education Secretaries of respective State/UT Government to take action against fake universities/institutes located in their jurisdiction. Since 2018, State Governments have informed that the following fake Universities/Institutes are no longer in existence /functioning:
  - i. Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi, UP/Jagatpuri, Delhi;
  - ii. Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya (Women's University), Parayag, Allahabad, UP;
  - iii. Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Kosi Kalan, Mathura (UP);
  - iv. Maharana Partap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh, UP; and
  - v. Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Institutional Area, Khoda, Makanpur, Noida Phase-2, UP.
  - vi. Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Darbhanga, Bihar.