GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1948 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17/3/2023

MEMBERS IN MSP COMMITTEE AND CACP

1948. SHRI RAGHAV CHADHA

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of members in the Minimum Support Price (MSP) Committee and Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP)
- (b) whether representation to Punjab has been given in the MSP Committee and CACP, if so the details thereof;
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (d) the details of steps taken by Government to ensure participation of Punjab, an agrarian State, in decision making vis-à-vis MSP fixation?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

(SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) to (d): The Government has constituted a Committee vide notification dated 18.07.2022 which consists representatives of farmers, eminent Agriculture Economists & Scientists Central Government, adequate representation of State Governments, etc. The Committee is to make suggestions so as to make Minimum Support Price (MSP) more effective and transparent; to promote natural farming; to change crop pattern keeping in mind the changing needs of the country

The Commission for Agricultural Costs & Prices (CACP) is mandated to recommend Minimum Support Prices (MSPs) to incentivize the cultivators to adopt modern technology, raise productivity and overall grain production in line with the emerging demand pattern in the country. Currently, the Commission comprises a Chairman, Member Secretary and one Official Member.

MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

(Department of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare)

NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, 12th July, 2022

S.O. 3211(E).—As per announcement of Hon'ble Prime Minister that "A committee will be constituted to promote Zero budget based farming, to change crop pattern keeping in mind the changing needs of the country, and to make MSP more effective and transparent & that the committee will consist of representatives of the Central Government and State Governments, Farmers, Agricultural Scientists and Agricultural Economists"; a committee is being constituted as follows-

1. Chairman

Shri Sanjay Agrawal (Former Agriculture Secretary)

2. Member NITI Aayog (Agriculture)

Shri Ramesh Chand

- 3. Agricultural Economist
- (i) Dr. C.S.C. Shekhar (Indian Institute of Economic Development)
- (ii) Dr.Sukhpal Singh (IIM, Ahmedabad)
- 4. National Award Winning Farmer

Shri Bharat Bhushan Tyagi

- 5. Representatives of Farmers
- (i) Three members from SanyuktaKisanMorcha (names to be added on receipt)
- (ii) Members from other farmer organizations
- Mr. GunwantPatil
- Shri KrishnaveerChoudhary
- Mr. Pramod Kumar Choudhary
- Shri Guni Prakash
- Mr. Sayyed Pasha Patel
- 6. Representative of Farmers' Cooperative/Group
- (i) Shri DilipSanghani, Chairman, IFFCO

- (ii) Shri BinodAnand, General Secretary, CNRI
- 7. Senior Member of the CACP
- Mr. Naveen P. Singh
- 8. Senior Member of Agricultural Universities/Institutions
- (i) Dr. P. Chandrashekhar, Director General, National Institute of Agricultural Extension (MANAGE)
- (ii) Dr. J.P. Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology, Jammu
- (iii) Dr. Pradeep Kumar Bisen, Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru Agricultural University, Jabalpur
- 9. Representative of the Government of India
- (i) Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
- (ii) Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education and Director General (ICAR)
- (iii) Secretary, Department of Food and Public Distribution
- (iv) Secretary, Ministry of Cooperation
- (v) Secretary, Ministry of Textiles
- 10. Representatives of State Governments
- (i) Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary/Commissioner Agriculture, Karnataka
- (ii) Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary/Commissioner Agriculture, Andhra Pradesh,
- (iii) Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary/Commissioner Agriculture, Sikkim
- (iv) Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary/Commissioner Agriculture, Odisha
- 11.Member-Secretary

Joint Secretary (Crops)

Subject matter of constitution of the Committee

- A) M. S. P.
- 1. Suggestions to make available MSP to farmers of the country by making the system more effective and transparent.
- 2. Suggestions on practicality to give more autonomy to Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP) and measures to make it more scientific.
- 3. To strengthen the Agricultural Marketing System as per the changing requirements of the country to ensure higher value to the farmers through remunerative prices of their produce by taking advantage of the domestic and export opportunities.

B) Natural Farming

- 1. Suggestions for programmes and schemes for value chain development, protocol validation & research for future needs and support for area expansion under the Indian Natural Farming System by publicity and through involvement and contribution of farmer organizations.
- 2. To suggest strategies for making KrishiVigyan Kendra (KVKs) and other Research & Development institutions as knowledge centres, and introduction of natural farming system curriculum and skill development courses in the Universities & other educational Institutions.
- 3. To suggest farmer friendly alternative certification system and marketing system for natural farming processes and products.
- 4. To suggest methods and means for international coordination to strengthen the value chain development of natural farming.
- 5. Chain of laboratories for organic certification of products produced through natural farming.
- C. Crop Diversification
- 1. Mapping of existing cropping patterns of agro-ecological zones of producer and consumer states.
- 2. Strategy for diversification policy to change the cropping pattern according to the changing needs of the country.
- 3. Arrangement for agricultural diversification & system to ensure remunerative prices for the sale of new crops.
- 4. Review and suggestion on micro irrigation scheme.

[F. No. 12/7/22-S.S.] SHUBHA THAKUR, Jt. Secy
