GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1794 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16.03.2023

Elephant corridors in Karnataka

1794. SHRI G.C. CHANDRASHEKHAR:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the proposed elephant corridors in the State of Karnataka;
- (b) the details of the land acquired and pending to be acquired from people and forest regions for elephant corridors from 2018 in Karnataka, year-wise and project-wise; and
- (c) the details of the compensation provided and pending to people from 2018, year-wise and project-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI ASHWINI KUMAR CHOUBEY)

(a)to(c) As per the information received from the State of Karnataka, nine Elephant Corridors have been identified in the State. The list of Elephant Corridors is enclosed as Annexure. Moreover, the Government of Karnataka has secured the Edayahalli Doddasampige Elephant Corridor by purchasing 25.37 acres of private land in the year 2017 and Chamarajanagara – Talamali at Muddahalli Elephant Corridor by purchasing 16.30 Acres of private land in the year 2021-22. As per the information received from the State of Karnataka,no compensation has been paid to people by Government in securing elephant corridors.

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (c) OF THE RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1794 RAISED BY SHRI G.C. CHANDRASHEKHARREGARDING 'ELEPHANT CORRIDORS IN KARNATAKA" DUE FOR REPLY ON 16.03.2023.

ELEPHANT CORRIDORS IDENTIFIED BY GOVERNMENT OF KARNATAKA

Sl.No.	Elephant Corridor	State
1	Karadikkal- Madeshwara	Ragihallicorridor, Karnataka
2	Tali-Bilikkal	Tamil Nadu and Karnataka
3	Bilikkal – Javalagiri	Tamil Nadu and Karnataka
4	Edayahalli –Guttiyalattur	Tamil Nadu and Karnataka
5	Edayahalli – Doddasampige	Karnataka
6	Chamarajanagar- Talamalai at Punjur	Tamil Nadu and Karnataka
7	Chamarajanagar- Talamalai at Muddahalli	Tamil Nadu and Karnataka
8	Kaniyanpura – Moyar	Karnataka
9	Beguru –Brammagiri	Karnataka and Kerala