GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED PARLIAMENT QUESTION 1538 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14TH MARCH 2023

STATUS OF DEICC

1538: SHRI KUMAR KETKAR:

Will the **MINISTER of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) The status of District Early Intervention Child Centres (DEICC);
- (b) If so, the number of children registered in OPDs, State-wise and District -wise; and
- (c) The details of services used by them?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) to (c)

Rashtriya Bal Swasthya Karyakram (RBSK) is a program to improve the quality of life of children and provide comprehensive care. The program involves screening of children from birth to 18 years of age for 4 Ds-Defects at birth, Diseases, Deficiencies and Development delays, spanning 32 common health conditions, for early detection and free treatment and management including surgeries for the identified health conditions at tertiary level and follow-up care at the district level.

District Early Intervention Centres (DEIC) offer multitude of services by offering developmentally supportive care at the district level for follow-up management of referred and treated cases.

363 DEICs are functional across various States/ UT (State/UT wise list of DEICs Annexed). Daily OPD attendance data is maintained at the facility level.

Therapeutic services provided at the DEIC help to prevent or lessen difficulties of Developmental Delays and related functional problems.

Sl. No	States/UTs	DEIC functional
A. Non-N	E High Focus States	i
1	Bihar	9
2	Chhattisgarh	7
3	Himachal Pradesh	7
4	Jharkhand	6
5	Madhya Pradesh	22
6	Odisha	32
7	Rajasthan	17
8	Uttar Pradesh	6
9	Uttarakhand	5
B. NE Sta	ites	
10	Arunachal Pradesh	3
11	Assam	10
12	Manipur	9
13	Meghalaya	3
14	Mizoram	2
15	Nagaland	1
16	Sikkim	1
17	Tripura	3
C. Non H	igh Focus States	i
18	Andhra Pradesh	34
19	Telangana	10
20	Goa	2
21	Gujrat	23
22	Haryana	21
23	Karnataka	13
24	Kerala	14
25	Maharashtra	29
26	Punjab	5
27	Tamil Nadu	34
28	West Bengal	6
D. Union	Territories	
29	Andaman & Nicobar	0
30	Chandigarh	1
31	Dadra & Nagar Haveli + Daman & Diu	2
32	Delhi	1
33	Jammu & Kashmir	22
34	Ladakh	2
35	Lakshadweep	0
36	Puducherry	1