GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI,

DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1372

ANSWERED ON 13.03.2023

WATER HERITAGE SITES

1372. SHRI PARIMAL NATHWANI

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

(a) the number of water heritage sites in the country, State/UT-wise;

(b) the details of the funds allocated/disbursed for maintenance of these sites in the last three years, State/UT-wise; and

(c) whether there is any plan to add more water heritage sites from the States of Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI

(SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) to (c) There is no provision under the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 to declare a site as a "Water Heritage Site" under Archaeological Survey of India (ASI). However, the Ministry of Jal Shakti had constituted a Committee to identify 75 Water Heritage Structure (WHS) in reference to 75 years of India's Independence.

A total of **421 nominations** were received through States/UTs, Central Agencies, NGOs and general public and out of which Committee has recommended 75 water heritage structures, which includes 5 Water Heritage Structure from Gujarat and 4 Water Heritage Structure from Andhra Pradesh respectively. In this connection, "Jal-Itihas" sub-portal under India-WRIS portal, showcasing the 75 WHS, was launched (https://indiawris.gov.in/wris/) on 5th January, 2023 at the 1st All India State Ministers Conference on Water at Bhopal. State/UT wise details of these WHS are at **Annexure**. At present there is no central fund allocated/disbursed for maintenance of these sites.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1372 TO BE ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 13.03.2023 REGARDING "WATER HERITAGE SITES"

Details of Water Heritage Structures		
S.No.	States/UTs	Number of Water Heritage Structures
1	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	1
2	Andhra Pradesh	4
3	Assam	4
4	Bihar	2
5	Chhattisgarh	1
6	Delhi	1
7	Gujarat	5
8	Haryana	3
9	Himachal Pradesh	1
10	Jammu and Kashmir	1
11	Jharkhand	1
12	Karnataka	5
13	Kerala	2
14	Ladakh	1
15	Madhya Pradesh	6
16	Maharashtra	4
17	Manipur	1
18	Meghalaya	1
19	Mizoram	1
20	Odisha	2
21	Punjab	1
22	Puducherry	1
23	Rajasthan	7
24	Tamil Nadu	7
25	Telangana	4
26	Tripura	1
27	Uttar Pradesh	4
28	Uttarakhand	2
29	West Bengal	1

Source: https://indiawris.gov.in/wris/
