GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1140 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13.02,2023

Auction of coal blocks

1140. DR. KIRODI LAL MEENA

Will the Minister of *COAL* be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government proposes to auction 38 coal blocks in the country, if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (b) whether the States concerned have requested for allocation coal blocks to the coal PSUs situated in that State for exploration at a cheaper rate in view of availability of technology, machinery, cheap labour, etc., with those coal PSUs; and
- (c) if so, the constraints faced by the Government for allotting coal blocks to such coal PSUs?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF COAL, MINES & PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI PRALHAD JOSHI)

- (a) The Ministry of Coal had completed the auction process for 38 coal mines in first round of auction for commercial mining which was launched on June 18, 2020 under Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 [CMSP Act] and Mines and Minerals (Development & Regulation) Act, 1957 [MMDR Act]. The auction process received a good response from the bidders. Out of 38 mines put on auction, 20 mines were successfully auctioned with a success rate of 53%. List of said 38 coal mines is given at **Annexure** enclosed.
- (b) and (c) Requests are received from State Governments from time to time for allocation of coal blocks to PSUs. Under the provisions of the Mines and Minerals (Development & Regulation) Act, 1957 and the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 and Rules made thereunder, State PSUs may participate in the auction process of coal blocks as and when Notice Inviting Tender (NIT) is published by Nominated Authority/ Ministry of Coal.

List of 38 coal mines put up in first round of commercial auction

S. No.	Coal Mine	State	Act
1	Gare-Palma-IV/1	Chhattisgarh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
2	Gare-Palma-IV/7	Chhattisgarh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
	Shankarpur Bhatgaon II		
3	Extn.	Chhattisgarh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
4	Sondhia	Chhattisgarh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
5	Dolesara	Chhattisgarh	MMDR Act, 1957
6	Jarekela	Chhattisgarh	MMDR Act, 1957
7	Jharpalam Tangarghat	Chhattisgarh	MMDR Act, 1957
8	Brahmadiha	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
9	Chakla	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
10	Chitarpur	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
11	Choritand Tiliaya	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
12	Gondulpara	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
13	North Dhadu	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
	Rajhara North (Central &		
14	Eastern)	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
15	Seregarha	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
16	Urma Paharitola	Jharkhand	CM (SP) Act, 2015
17	Urtan	Madhya Pradesh	MMDR Act, 1957
10 10	Gotitoria(East) &	M 11 D 1 1	CM (CD) A + 2015
18-19	Gotitoria(West)	Madhya Pradesh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
20	Marki Barka	Madhya Pradesh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
21	Sahapur East	Madhya Pradesh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
22	Sahapur West	Madhya Pradesh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
23	Thesgora-B/ Rudrapuri	Madhya Pradesh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
24	Urtan North	Madhya Pradesh	CM (SP) Act, 2015
25	Bandha	Madhya Pradesh	MMDR Act, 1957
26	Dhirauli N. 1. C. 1. VI. 9	Madhya Pradesh	MMDR Act, 1957
27	Marwatola Sector-VI & Sector-VII	Madhya Pradesh	MMDR Act, 1957
28	Marki Mangli II	Maharashtra	CM (SP) Act, 2015
20	Takli-Jena-	TVI GII GII G	CIVI (DI) 1101, 2013
	Bellora(North) & Takli-		
29	Jena-Bellora (South)	Maharashtra	CM (SP) Act, 2015
	Chendipada &		
30-31	Chendipada II	Odisha	CM (SP) Act, 2015
32-33	Machhakata & Mahanadi	Odisha	CM (SP) Act, 2015

S. No.	Coal Mine	State	Act
34	Radhikapur (East)	Odisha	CM (SP) Act, 2015
35	Radhikapur (West)	Odisha	CM (SP) Act, 2015
	Brahmanbil &		
36	Kardabahal	Odisha	MMDR Act, 1957
37	Kuraloi (A) North	Odisha	MMDR Act, 1957
38	Phuljhari (East & West)	Odisha	MMDR Act, 1957
