GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Rajya Sabha

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.: 1134 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 13th February 2023

OPERATIONAL AIRPORTS, HELIPORTS AND WATER AERODROMES

1134. SHRI VIKRAMJIT SINGH SAHNEY

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

- (a) the details and number of operational airports, heliports and water aerodromes in the country since 2017, year-wise, state-wise;
- (b) details of operational airports in tier-two and tier-three cities under the Centre's Regional Connectivity Scheme- UDAN in last five years, year-wise, state-wise, district-wise for the State of Punjab;
- (c) the details of the funds allocated and utilized under UDAN scheme in last five years, year-wise, State-wise;
- (d) whether government is planning to establish more airports under UDAN scheme, if so, the details thereof with timeline; and
- (e) If not, reasons therefor?

ANSWER

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD))

(a) to (e): Ministry of Civil Aviation has launched Regional Connectivity Scheme - UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik) on 21.10.2016 to stimulate regional air connectivity and making air travel affordable to the masses. UDAN is a market driven scheme. Interested airlines based on their assessment of demand on particular routes, submit their proposals at the time of bidding under UDAN.

As on 31.01.2023, a total number of 73 unserved /underserved airports including 9 Heliports & 2 water aerodromes have been operationalised, since 2017, under the UDAN scheme. A list of these Airports/Heliports/Water Aerodromes is attached as Annexure. UDAN is an ongoing scheme where bidding rounds are conducted from time to time for covering more destinations/stations and routes under the scheme.

UDAN is a self-financing scheme. VGF amount of around Rs. 2355 crore has been released to Selected Airline Operators as on 31.01.2023 for the operation of UDAN flights.

The Government has approved the 'Revival of unserved and underserved airports' scheme for the revival and development of 100 unserved and under-served Airports, Helipad and Water Aerodromes by 2024. Under the UDAN scheme, the unserved & underserved airports/airstrips namely Ludhiana, Adampur, Bhatinda and Pathankot have been identified in the State of Punjab for operation of UDAN flights till the completion of four rounds of bidding. UDAN flight operation from the Ludhiana, Adampur, Bhatinda and Pathankot airports have been commenced by the Selected Airline Operators (SAOs).

List of RCS Airports operationalized as on 06.02.2023

(Total 73 Nos. including 19 Underserved and 54 Unserved airports)

(Total 73 Nos. including 19 Underserved and 54 Unserved airports)					
S No.	State	Airport/Heliport/Water Aerodrome	Year of		
			Operationalisation		
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kadapa	2017		
2.		Kurnool Airport	2021		
3.	Assam	Jorhat	2018		
4.		Lilabari	2019		
5.		Tezpur	2018		
6.		Rupsi	2021		
7.	Arunachal Pradesh	Tezu	2021		
8.		Passighat	2021		
9.		Hollongi	2023		
10.	Bihar	Darbhanga	2020		
11.		Jagdalpur	2018		
12.		Bilaspur	2021		
13.	Daman & Diu	Diu	2018		
14.	Gujarat	Bhavnagar	2018		
15.		Jamnagar	2018		
16.		Kandla	2017		
17.		Keshod	2022		
18.		Mundra	2018		
19.		Porbandar	2017		
20.		Statue of Unity (Water Aerodrome)	2020		
21.		Sabarmati River Front (Water			
		Aerodrome)	2020		
22.	Haryana	Hissar	2021		
23.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	2017		
24.		Kullu	2019		
25.		Mandi – Heliport	2021		
26.		Rampur – Heliport	2021		
27.	Jharkhand	Deoghar	2022		
28.		Jamshedpur	2023		
29.		Belgaum	2019		
30.		Hubli	2018		
31.		Mysore	2017		
32.		Vidyanagar	2017		
33.		Kalaburgi	2019		
34.		Bidar	2020		
	Kerala	Kannur	2019		
	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior	2017		
	1.14411 4 1 1440 511	J., 21101			

S No.	State	Airport/Heliport/Water Aerodrome	Year of Operationalisation
37.	Maharashtra	Gondia	2022
38.		Jalgaon	2017
39.		Kolhapur	2018
40.		Nanded	2017
41.		Ozar	2017
42.		Sindhudurg	2021
43.	Meghalaya	Shillong	2018
44.		Dimapur	2019
45.		Jharsuguda	2018
46.		Jeypore	2022
47.		Rourkela	2023
	Pondicherry (UT)	Pondicherry	2017
	Punjab	Adampur	2018
50.		Bhatinda	2017
51.		Ludhiana	2017
52.		Pathankot	2018
53.	Rajasthan	Bikaner	2017
<u>53.</u>	Tagastiaii	Jaisalmer	2017
55.		Kishangarh	2018
<u>55.</u>	Sikkim	Pakyong	2018
<u>5</u> 57.	Tamil Nadu	Salem	2018
	Uttar Pradesh	Agra	2017
<u>59.</u>	Cttai Traccon	Allahabad	2018
60.		Kanpur	2018
61.		Hindon	2019
62.		Bareilly	2021
63.		Kushinagar	2021
64.	Uttarakhand	Pantnagar	2019
65.	Ctturukriuria	Pithoragarh	2019
66.		Sahastradhara - Heliport	2020
67.		Chinyalisaur – Heliport	2020
68.		Gaucher – Heliport	2020
69.		New Tehri – Heliport	2020
70.		Srinagar – Heliport	2020
71.		Haldwani – Heliport	2021
72.		Almora – Heliport	2022

S No.	State	Airport/Heliport/Water Aerodrome	Year of Operationalisation
73.	West Bengal	Durgapur	2019