GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Rajya Sabha

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.: 1124 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 13th February 2023

ARMED SECURITY COVER FOR AIRPORTS

1124. SHRI BRIJLAL

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

- (a) whether Government proposes to provide armed security to more than 60 airports operating in tier II and III cities under the Regional Connectivity Scheme 'UDAN; if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the names of airports in the country which have been included under the scheme; and
- (c) whether this proposal has been finalized by the Government and if so, the details thereof and if not, by when it is likely to be finalised?

ANSWER

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD))

(a) to (c): As provided under Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) - UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik), security at RCS Airports is provided by State Police. However, 14 RCS airports are under Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) security cover. As on 03.02.2023, a total of 73 airports have been operationalized under RCS-UDAN scheme. The list is at Annexure A.

Annexure A

List of RCS operationalized Airports

| S. No. | Airport | S. No. | Airport |
|--------|---------------------------|--------|--------------------------|
| 1. | Kadapa | 38. | Jalgaon |
| 2. | Kurnool Airport | 39. | Kolhapur |
| 3. | Jorhat | 40. | Nanded |
| 4. | Lilabari | 41. | Ozar (Nasik) |
| 5. | Tezpur | 42. | Sindhudurg |
| 6. | Rupsi | 43. | Shillong |
| 7. | Tezu | 44. | Dimapur |
| 8. | Passighat | 45. | Jharsuguda |
| 9. | Hollongi | 46. | Jeypore |
| 10. | Darbhanga | 47. | Rourkela |
| 11. | Jagdalpur | 48. | Pondicherry |
| 12. | Bilaspur | 49. | Adampur |
| 13. | Diu | 50. | Bhatinda |
| 14. | Bhavnagar | 51. | Ludhiana |
| 15. | Jamnagar | 52. | Pathankot |
| 16. | Kandla | 53. | Bikaner |
| 17. | Keshod | 54. | Jaisalmer |
| 18. | Mundra | 55. | Kishangarh |
| 19. | Porbandar | 56. | Pakyong |
| 20. | Statue of Unity (W) | 57. | Salem |
| 21. | Sabarmati River Front (W) | 58. | Agra |
| 22. | Hissar | 59. | Allahabad |
| 23. | Shimla | 60. | Kanpur (Chakeri) |
| 24. | Kullu | 61. | Hindon |
| 25. | Mandi – Heliport | 62. | Bareilly |
| 26. | Rampur – Heliport | 63. | Kushinagar |
| 27. | Deoghar | 64. | Pantnagar |
| 28. | Jamshedpur | 65. | Pithoragarh |
| 29. | Belgaum | 66. | Sahastradhara - Heliport |
| 30. | Hubli | 67. | Chinyalisaur –Heliport |
| 31. | Mysore | 68. | Gaucher –Heliport |
| 32. | Vidyanagar | 69. | New Tehri -Heliport |
| 33. | Kalaburgi (Gulbarga) | 70. | Srinagar –Heliport |
| 34. | Bidar | 71. | Haldwani – Heliport |
| 35. | Kannur | 72. | Almora – Heliport |
| 36. | Gwalior | 73. | Durgapur |
| 37. | Gondia | | |

^{*}W – means Waterfront