GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Rajya Sabha

STARRED QUESTION NO.: 281

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 27th March 2023

NIGHT LANDING FACILITY AT AIRPORTS

281. SHRI RAGHAV CHADHA

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

- (a) the details of airports situated in Punjab with night landing facility;
- (b) whether night landing facility is available at Ludhiana airport;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor;
- (e) the number of airports in the country without night landing facility, the State-wise details thereof; and
- (f) the deadline by which all the airports in the country would be equipped with night landing facility?

ANSWER

Minister of CIVIL AVIATION (Shri Jyotiraditya M. Scindia)

(a) to (f): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

Statement in respect of parts (a) to (f) of Rajya Sabha Starred Question No. 281 for 27.03.2023 regarding Night landing facility at airports.

(a): Night landing facility is available at Amritsar, Bhatinda, Pathankot and Adampur airports in Punjab.

- (b) to (d): No, Sir. Night landing facility is not available at Ludhiana airport due to unavailability of land.
- (e) & (f): The State-wise list of operational airports in the country which do not have night landing facility for civil operations is at Annexure. The provision of night landing facility, which is purely based on the demand and operational requirements of the airlines, is a continuous process and is undertaken by Airports Authority of India (AAI) and other airport operators from time to time depending on the availability of land, commercial viability, socio- economic considerations, traffic demand / willingness of airlines to operate to/from such airports etc.

ANNEXURE TO STARRED PQ No. 281

SI.	STATE / UT	NAME OF AIRPORT
No.	OTATE / OT	NAME OF AIR OR
1	ANDHRA PRADESH	KURNOOL
2	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	ZIRO
3		TEZU
4		PASSIGHAT (CE)
5		DONYI POLO (ITANAGAR)
6	ASSAM	RUPSI
7	BIHAR	DARBHANGA
8	OLULATTICO A DI I	BILASPUR
9	CHHATTISGARH	JAGDALPUR
10	DAMAN & DIU (UT)	DIU
11	DELHI (UT)	SAFDARJUNG
12	GUJARAT	KESHOD (JUNAGARH)
13	HARYANA	HISAR
14		KANGRA (GAGGAL)
15	HIMACHAL PRADESH	KULLU MANALI (BHUNTAR)
16	1	SHIMLA
17	JHARKHAND	DEOGHAR
18]	JAMSHEDPUR
19	KARNATAKA	KALABURAGI
20		SHIVAMOGGA
21	LADAKH (UT)	LEH
22	LAKSHDWEEP (UT)	AGATTI
23		AKOLA
24		GONDIA
25	MAHARASHTRA	JUHU
26		SHOLAPUR
27		SINDHUDURG
28	MIZORAM	LENGPUI (AIZWAL)
29	ODISHA	ROURKELA
30	ODISTIA	JEYPORE
31	PUDUCHERRY (UT)	PUDUCHERRY
32	PUNJAB	LUDHIANA
33	RAJASTHAN	KOTA
34	SIKKIM	PAKYONG
35	TAMIL NADU	SALEM
36	UTTAR PRADESH	AYODHYA
37		KANPUR (CIVIL)
38		MEERUT
39		MORADABAD

40		KUSHINAGAR
41	UTTARAKHAND	PANTNAGAR
42		PITHORAGARH
43	WEST BENGAL	BEHALA
44		COOCH BEHAR
