GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 870

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 14^{TH} DECEMBER, 2022/ AGRAHAYANA 23, 1944 (SAKA)

Secretariat to tackle terror funding

870: Shri Kartikeya Sharma:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) whether Government has any proposal to set up a permanent Secretariat to coordinate the global efforts against terror funding;

(b) if so, the objective thereof;

(c) the details of the stakeholders of the proposed Secretariat;

(d) the details of the countries cooperating with 'No Money for Terror';

(e) whether country's investigation agencies will play a key role in the organization; and

(f) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) to (d): The Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India hosted the 3rd Ministerial Level Conference on Counter-Terrorism Financing 'No Money For Terror' (NMFT) during 18-19 November, 2022 to collaborate with countries across the world for suppressing the funding sources that allow terrorists and extremists to carry out their violent acts. Delegations from 77 countries and 16 multilateral organizations participated in the Conference. The details are at Annexure.

During the Conference, sensing the need for permanency of this unique initiative and in order to sustain global focus on countering the financing of terrorism, the Government has offered to establish a permanent Secretariat for the No Money for Terror (NMFT) Ministerial Conference, in the country. A discussion paper is to be circulated shortly to all Participating Jurisdictions for their valuable comments.

(e) & (f) The proposed Secretariat is not expected to be an investigative body. It will operate on the concept of collaboration and cooperation between nations.

* * * * * * *

List of Countries and Organizations which participated in the 3rd No Money for Terror (NMFT) Ministerial Conference, during 18-19 November, 2022.

Countries

1. Algeria	27. Jamaica	53. Oman
		54. Palestine
2. Argentina 3. Armenia	28. Hungary 29. Iceland	55. Poland
••••••	-	••••
4. Australia	30. Indonesia	56. Portugal
5. Austria	31. Iraq	57. Qatar
6. Bahrain	32. Ireland	58. Romania
7. Bangladesh	33. Israel	59. Russian Federation
8. Belarus	34. Italy	60. Saudi Arabia
9. Belgium	35. Japan	61. Singapore
10. Brazil	36. Jordan	62. Slovak Republic
11. Bulgaria	37. Kazakhstan	63. South Africa
12. Cambodia	38. Kenya	64. South Korea
13. Canada	39. Kuwait	65. Spain
14. Chile	40. Laos	66. Sri Lanka
15. Costa Rica	41. Lithuania	67. Sudan
16. Cuba	42. Luxembourg	68. Sweden
17. Cyprus	43. Malaysia	69. Switzerland
18. Czech Republic	44. Maldives	70. Tajikistan
19. Denmark	45. Mauritius	71. Thailand
20. Egypt	46. Mongolia	72. Turkey
21. Ethiopia	47. Morocco	73. United Arab Emirates
22. Finland	48. Nepal	74. United Kingdom
23. France	49. Netherlands	75. U.S.A.
24. Germany	50. New Zealand	76. Uzbekistan
25. Ghana	51. Nigeria	77. Vietnam
26. Greece	52. Norway	

Organizations

- 1. BIMSTEC
- 2. EAG
- 3. Egmont Group
- 4. EUROPOL
- 5. European Union
- 6. FATF
- 7. GCC
- 8. IMF
- 9. INTERPOL
- 10. MONEYVAL
- 11. SAARC
- 12. SCO-RATS
- 13. United Nations Counter Terrorism Committee Executive Directorate
- 14. UNOCT
- 15. United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
- 16. West African Money Laundering Group (GIABA) based in Dakar
