GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 781** ANSWERED ON 13.12.2022

ESTABLISHMENT OF SOLAR CITIES

781. DR. FAUZIA KHAN

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the works done for the establishment of Solar Cities in the past five years, State-wise;

(b) the details of the funds allocated, released and spent for the establishment of Solar Cities for the past three years, State-wise;

(c) the details of work done for the establishment of Solar Cities in Maharashtra;

(d) whether Government proposes to increase the allocation for Maharashtra for establishment of Solar Cities and if so, the details thereof, and if not, the reasons therefor; and

(e) whether Government has any plans/proposals for the establishment of Solar Cities, Statewise, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) to (e) Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has requested all States/UTs to identified at least one city to be developed as Solar City. So far, 26 States/UTs have identified such cities to be developed as Solar Cities. The details are given at **Annexure**. The state of Maharashtra is yet to communicate about the city to be developed as Solar City.

The programme of Solar Cities is to be implemented by a convergence of the existing schemessuch as Rooftop Solar Programme and Solar Park scheme.

Annexure referred to part (a) to (e) of the Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 781 to be answered on 13.12.2022

S. No	State	Solar City
1	Assam	Majuli
2	Bihar	Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, Vaishali
3	Chhattisgarh	New Raipur
4	Delhi	NDMC
5	Gujarat	Dwarka
6	Haryana	Panchkula
7	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
8	Jharkhand	Giridih
9	Karnataka	Hospet in Bellary and Bidar
10	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
11	Madhya Pradesh	Sanchi
12	Meghalaya	TURA Town of West Garo Hills
13	Odisha	Bhubaneswar
14	Rajasthan	Pushkar and Jaisalmer
15	Uttar Pradesh	Ayodhya and Prayag Raj
16	Uttarakhand	Dehradoon
17	West Bengal	Prantik in Birbhum, Shantiniketan
18	Andaman and Nikobar	Shaheed Dweep
19	Punjab	Amritsar
20	Sikkim	Jorethang
21	Tripura	Udaipur Town
22	Mizoram	Saitual
23	Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli	Diu city , Diu and Damanwada Panchayat, Daman
24	Goa	Panjim
25	Nagaland	Kohima & Dimapur
26	Jammu and Kashmir	Jammu