GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 464 ANSWERED ON 09.12.2022

RAILWAY STATION LAND MONETIZATION PLAN

464. SHRI JAGGESH:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that railway station land monetization plan will assist private players in recouping their investment in modernizing the stations;
- (b) if so, whether Government proposes to revert to its previous plan to combine real estate monetization with the redevelopment of railway stations across the country; and
- (c) the list of railway stations proposed for redevelopment and time frame of implementation, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 464 BY SHRI JAGGESH ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 09.12.2022 REGARDING RAILWAY STATION LAND MONETIZATION PLAN

(a) to (c) Ministry of Railways is undertaking techno-economic feasibility studies for redevelopment of stations. Based on the outcome of these feasibility studies, stations are planned to be taken up for redevelopment in phases especially the stations located in major cities and important tourist destinations. The model for execution of station redevelopment work is decided on case to case basis to meet the needs of passengers in the best possible manner.

Redevelopment of Railway Stations at this scale is complex in nature and requires detailed techno-economic feasibility studies and various statutory clearances from urban/local bodies etc. and these factors affect the completion time. Therefore, no time frame can be indicated. The list of Stations identified for redevelopment is as under:-

LIST OF STATIONS IDENTIFIED FOR REDEVELOPMENT		
S.No.	Name of Station	
1	Rameshwaram	
2	Ernakulam	
3	Kanniyakumari	
4	Tirupati	
5	Gaya	
6	Delhi Cantt.	
7	Puducherry	
8	Nellore	
9	Lucknow(Charbagh)	
10	Ghaziabad	
11	Kanpur	
12	Prayagraj	
13	Madurai	
14	Kollam	
15	Udaipur	
16	Gandhinagar Jaipur	
17	Kota	
18	Dakaniya Talav	
19	Udhna	
20	Surat	
21	Bijwasan	
22	Chandigarh	
23	Ludhiana	
24	Secunderabad	
25	Gwalior	
26	Asansol	
27	Ernakulam Town	

28	Muzaffarpur
29	Somnath
30	Katpadi
31	Jammu Tawi
32	Faridabad
33	Puri
34	Bangaluru Cantt.
35	Nagpur
36	Ranchi
37	Jalandhar Cantt.
38	Jaipur
39	Chennai Egmore
40	Sabarmati BG & MG
41	Bhubaneswar
42	New Jalpaiguri
43	Visakhapatnam
44	Indore
45	New Bhuj
46	Jaisalmer
47	Yeshwantpur
48	Khandwa
49	Jodhpur
50	Kashi
51	Cuttak
52	Ajni
53	Gurugram
54	Jalna
55	Aurangabad
56	Bapudham Motihari
57	Thiruvanthapuram
58	New Delhi
59	Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT)
60	Ahmedabad
61	Ayodhya
62	Gomti Nagar
63	Safdarjung
64	Anand Vihar