GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE DEPARTMENT OF LEGAL AFFAIRS

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.263 ANSWERED ON THURSDAY, THE 8TH DECEMBER, 2022

VACANCIES IN LAW COMMISSION OF INDIA AND CAT

263. SHRI PRAMOD TIWARI: SHRI DIGVIJAYA SINGH: DR. AMEE YAJNIK:

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that the post of Chairperson of the Law Commission of India has been vacant since September 2018;
- (b) if so, the reasons for the same and the details of acting Chairperson of the Law Commission; and
- (c) the date by when Government will appoint a new Chairperson of the Law Commission?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (SHRIKIREN RIJIJU)

(a)to (c): The 22nd Law Commission of India has been constituted for a term of three years w.e.f. 21st February, 2020.Mr. Justice Ritu Raj Awasthi, Retired Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court has been appointed as Chairperson of 22nd Law Commission of India.
