GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2054 ANSWERED ON 23.12.2022

SENSITIVE RAILWAY STATIONS

2054 SHRI HARBHAJAN SINGH:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Railways have identified number of railway stations in the country as sensitive;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, division wise;
- (c) whether any committee has been constituted to study and to upgrade the security system in these sensitive railway stations in the country; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

- (a) Yes, Sir. 202 railway stations have been identified in the country as sensitive.
- (b) Division wise position is appended.
- (c) & (d): A high level committee comprising of officers from National Security Guards (NSG), Intelligence Bureau (IB), Delhi Police, Railway Protection Force (RPF) and Railways was constituted in the year 2007 for recommending a composite security plan for the Indian Railways. The high level committee submitted its report on the Composite Security Plan in the year 2008. The committee identified sensitive and vulnerable stations of Indian Railways. Based on their report 202 railway stations have been identified as sensitive.

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2054 BY SHRI HARBHAJAN SINGH ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 23.12.2022 REGARDING SENSITIVE RAILWAY STATIONS

(b) Division wise details of identified railway stations in the country as sensitive:-

S.No.	Zone	Division	No. of sensitive Railway Stations	Name of sensitive railway stations
1	Central Railway Mumbai Area	Bhusawal	08	Bhusawal, Nasik Road, Manmad, Chalisgaon, Jalgaon, Akola, Murtajapur, Badnera
		Nagpur	01	Nagpur
		Pune	02	Pune, Miraj
		Mumbai	06	Chatrapati Shivaji Terminal (Main line & Suburban), Dadar, Kurla, Lokmanya Tilak Terminus, Thane & Kalyan
2	Eastern Railway Kolkata	Howrah	02	Bardhaman, Howrah.
		Sealdah	06	Sealdah, Kolkata(T), Bidhannagar, Majherhat, Ballygunge, Dum Dum
	Area	Asansol	02	Asansol, Durgapur
		Malda	01	Malda
3	Kolkata Metro		24	Dum Dum, Esplanade, Rabindra Sadan, Belgachia, Central, Chandni Chowk, Gitanjali, Grishpark, Jatindas Park, Kalighat, Kavi Nazrul, Kavi Subhash, Mahanayak Uttam Kumar, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Maidan, Mastarda Suryasen, Netaji, Netaji Bhavan, Noapara, Parkstreet, Rabindra Sarovar, Sahid Khudiram, Shyambazar, Sovabazar Sutanuti
4	East Central Railway	Dhanbad	01	Dhanbad
		PT. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya	01	PT. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya
		Danapur	02	Patna Jn., Rajendra Nagar
		Sonpur	01	Muzzafar Pur
		Samastipur	02	Samastipur, Raxaul
5	East Coast	Khurda Road	03	Puri, Cuttack, Bhubaneshwar,
	Railway	Waltair	01	Visakapatnam

6	Northern Railway	Delhi	10	New Delhi, Delhi Main, H.Nizamuddin, Shahdara, Tilak Bridge, Sarai Rohilla, Delhi Cantt, Shivazi Bridge, Anand Vihar, Ghaziabad.
		Lucknow	04	Lucknow, Varanasi, Faizabad, Ayodhya
		Firozpur	15	Srinagar, Badgam, Anantnag, Jammutawi, Udhampur, Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Chakkibank, Brijbehra, Panjgam, Awantipura, Kakapore, Pampore, Rajwansher
		Ambala	06	Ambala, Saharanpur, Kalka, Bathinda, Chandigarh, Patiala
		Moradabad	03	Bareilly, Moradabad, Haridwar
7	North Central	Agra	02	Agra, Mathura
	Railway	Jhansi	01	Virangana Laxmibai
		Prayagraj	02	Kanpur, Prayagraj
8	North	Lucknow	02	Lucknow, Gorakhpur
	Eastern Railway	Banaras	01	Chapra
9	North Frontier	Lumding	05	Guwahati, Dimapur, Diphu, Lumding, Maibong
	Railway	Katihar	04	Katihar, Kishanganj, Siliguri, New Jalpaiguri
		Alipurduar	01	Kokrajhar
		Tinsukia	06	New Tinsukia, Simalguri, Jorhat Town, Mariani, Furkating, Dibrugarh
10	North Western Railway	Jaipur	01	Jaipur
		Ajmer	01	Ajmer
		Bikaner	01	Bikaner
		Jodhpur	01	Jodhpur
11.	Southern	Trivandrum	02	Trivandrum, Ernakulam
	Railway	Trichy	01	Tiruchirapalli
		Salem	01	Coimbatore
		Madurai	01	Madurai
		Palghat	02	Calicut, Mangalore
		Chennai	07	Chennai Central, Chennai Egmore, Beach, Mambalam, Tambaram, Basin Bridge, Tiruvallur

			-	-3-
12	South Central	Secunderabad	02	Secunderabad, Hyderabad
	Railway	Guntakal	01	Tirupati
13	South Eastern	Kharagpur	02	Kharagpur, Midnapur.
	Railway	Ranchi	02	Ranchi, Muri
		Chakradharpur	04	Tatanagar, Chakradharpur, Rourkela, Jharsuguda
		Adra	03	Bokaro, Puruliya, Adra
14	South East	Bilaspur	02	Bilaspur, Raipur
	Central Railway	Nagpur	01	Gondia
15	South Western	Bangaluru	02	Bangaluru, Yaswantpur
	Railway	Mysuru	01	Mysuru
16	West Central Railway	Bhopal	02	Bhopal, Itarsi.
17	Western Railway Mumbai Area	Mumbai	33	Surat, Church Gate, Marine Drive, Charni Road, Grant Road, Mumbai Central, Mahalaxmi, Lower Parel, Prabhadevi, Dadar, Matunga Road, Mahim, Bandra Local, Bandra Terminus, Khar Road, Santa Cruz, Vile Parle, Andheri, Jogeshwari, Goregaon, Malad, Kandivali, Borivali, Dahisar, Miraroad, Bhayander, Nayagaon, Basairoad, Nalasupara, Virar, Palghar, Boisar, Dahanuroad.
		Vadodra	02	Vadodara, Godhra
		Ratlam	01	Ujjain
		Ahmedabad	01	Ahmedabad
	To	tal	202	