# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

#### **RAJYA SABHA**

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1629 ANSWERED ON 21.12.2022

### **Establishment of new Universities in the country**

#### 1629 # Ms. Saroj Pandey:

Will the Minister of Education be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of new Universities established in the country during the last five years, the State-wise details thereof; and
- (b) the estimated number of students who will get the opportunity for higher education with the establishment of these Universities?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR. SUBHAS SARKAR)

(a) & (b) Six new Central Universities have been established under the administrative control of the Ministry of Education during last five years. This includes three deemed to be Universities converted into Central University through Central Sanskrit University Act, 2020. The details are as under:

S. No.	Name of the Central Universities	Location
1.	Central University of Andhra Pradesh	Ananthpur, Andhra Pradesh
2.	Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh	Vijaynagaram, Andhra Pradesh
3.	Sindhu Central University	Khaltsi, Ladakh
4	Central Sanskrit University (CSU)	Janakpuri Institutional Area, Delhi
5	Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit Universities (SLBSNSU)	Katwaria Sarai, New Delhi
6	National Sanskrit University (NSU)	Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh

More than 18000 students are getting/likely to get higher education from these universities.

\*\*\*\*