GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1567 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 20TH DECEMBER, 2022

SETTING UP OF MEDICAL COLLEGES

1567. SHRI DEEPAK PRAKASH:

Will the Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has selected some places for setting up medical colleges in the country including Jharkhand, if so, the details of thereof; and
- (b) the details regarding the prescribed procedure or criteria for the establishment of medical colleges?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) & (b): The Ministry of Health & Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme for 'Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals' with preference to underserved areas and aspirational districts, where there is no existing Government or private medical college. Under the Scheme, a total of 157 medical colleges have been approved in three phases, including 5 medical colleges in Jharkhand with fund sharing between the Centre and State Governments in the ratio of 90:10 for North Eastern and Special Category States and 60:40 for others. The State-wise details are at Annexure.

Minimum Requirements for Annual MBBS Admissions Regulations, 2020 of National Medical Commission (erstwhile Medical Council of India) stipulates criteria for setting up of new medical colleges which indicates requirement of faculty, beds, infrastructure, etc.

State-wise details of 157 Medical Colleges approved under the Centrally Sponsored scheme for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'

S.No	State/UT	No. of colleges	Districts	
			Phase-I (58)	
1	A & N Islands	1	Port Blair	
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Naharlagun	
3	Assam	4	Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu	
4	Bihar	3	Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur	
5	Chhattisgarh	2	Rajnandgaon, Sarguja	
6	Himachal Pradesh	3	Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)	
7	Haryana	1	Bhiwani	
8	Jharkhand	3	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)	
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5	Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri, Doda, Kathua	
10	Madhya Pradesh	7	Datia, Khandwa, Ratlam, Shahdol, Vidisha, Chindwara, Shivpuri	
11	Maharashtra	1	Gondia	
12	Meghalaya	1	West Garo Hills (Tura)	
13	Mizoram	1	Falkawn	
14	Nagaland	1	Naga Hospital (Kohima)	
15	Odisha	5	Balasore, Baripada (Mayurbhanj), Bolangir, Koraput, Puri	
16	Punjab	1	SAS Nagar	
17	Rajasthan	7	Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Churu, Dungarpur, Pali, Sikar	
18	Uttar Pradesh	5	Basti, Faizabad, Firozabad, Shahjahanpur, Bahraich	
19	Uttarakhand	1	Almora	
20	West Bengal	5	Birbhum (Rampur Hat), Cooch behar, Diamond harbour, Purulia, Raiganj (North Dinajpur)	
Phase –II (24)				
1	Bihar	5	Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar, Jamui	
2	Jharkhand	2	Koderma, Chaibasa (Singhbhum)	
3	Madhya Pradesh	1	Satna	
4	Odisha	1	Jajpur	
5	Rajasthan	1	Dholpur	
6	Uttar Pradesh	8	Etah, Hardoi, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Deoria, Ghazipur, Mirzapur	
7	West Bengal	5	Barasat, Uluberia, Arambagh, Jhargram, Tamluk	
8	Sikkim	1	Gangtok	
	1		Phase-III (75)	
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	Piduguralla, Paderu, Machilipatnam	
2	Assam	1	Kokrajhar	
3	Chhattisgarh	3	Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker	
4	Gujarat	5	Narmada, Navsari, Panchmahal, Porbandar, Morbi	
5	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Udhampur, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)	
6	Karnataka	4	Chikkamagaluru, Haveri, Yadgiri, Chikkaballapura	
7	Ladakh	1	Leh	
8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Rajgarh, Mandla, Neemuch, Mandsaur, Sheopur, Singrauli	

9	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
10	Manipur	1	Churachandpur
11	Nagaland	1	Mon
12	Odisha	1	Kalahandi
13	Punjab	2	Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur
14	Rajasthan	15	Alwar, Baran, Bansawara, Chittorgarh, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Nagaur, Shri Ganganagar, Sirohi, Bundi, SawaiMadhopur, Tonk, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhunu, Dausa
15	Uttarakhand	3	Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar), Pithoragarh, Haridwar
16	Uttar Pradesh	14	Bijnaur, Kushinagar, Sultanpur, Gonda, Lalitpur, LakhimpurKheri, Chandauli, Bulandshahar, Sonbhadra, Pilibhit, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Amethi
17	Tamil Nadu	11	Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Namakkal, Dindigul, Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, Tiruvallur, Nagapattinam, Ariyalur, Kallakurichi
18	West Bengal	1	Jalpaiguri