# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

### **RAJYA SABHA**

# UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 13 ANSWERED ON 07.12.2022

# New Universities in the country

### 13 # Ms. Saroj Pandey:

Will the Minister of *Education* be pleased to state:

(a) the number of new Universities set up across the country during last five years along with the places where they have been set up, State-wise details thereof; and

(b) the number of students who are likely to get higher education from these Universities?

## ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR. SUBHAS SARKAR)

(a) & (b) Six new Central Universities have been established under the administrative control of the Ministry of Education during last five years. Three deemed to be Universities have been converted into Central University through Central Sanskrit University Act, 2020, which came into force on 30.04.2020. The details are as under:-

S. No.	Name of the Central Universities	Location
1.	Central University of Andhra Pradesh	Ananthpur, Andhra Pradesh
2.	Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh	Vijaynagaram, Andhra Pradesh
3.	Sindhu Central University	Khaltsi, Ladakh
4	Central Sanskrit University (CSU)	Janakpuri Institutional Area, Delhi
5	Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit Universities (SLBSNSU)	Katwaria Sarai, New Delhi
6	National Sanskrit University (NSU)	Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh

More than 18000 students are getting/likely to get higher education from these universities.