GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1153 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16/12/2022

PROMOTING CLIMATE RESILIENT AGRICULTURE

1153. SHRI SUBHAS CHANDRA BOSE PILLI:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE be pleased to state:-

(a) whether Government is implementing any scheme to promote climate resilient agriculture across cyclone prone States;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether any districts of Andhra Pradesh have been selected for climate-resilient agriculture; and

(d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) & (b): Yes, for the promotion of climate resilient agriculture, the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) under Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Government of India has launched a flagship network project namely National Innovations in Climate Resilient Agriculture (NICRA). Under the Technology Demonstration Component (TDC) of NICRA, 31 districts are involved from 6 states for demonstration of climate resilient agriculture technologies and for enhancing their adoption in farmers' field.

The details of the six states and districts where NICRA-ITD programme is being implemented are furnished below:

State	Districts involved in NICRA-TDC Programme
Gujarat	Banaskantha, Narmada, Dahod, Panchmahal
Kerala	Alappuzha, Kottayam, Wayanad, Kannur, Palakkad, Kozhikode
Tamil Nadu	Villupuram, Ramanathapuram, Perambalur
Andhra Pradesh	Anantapur, Srikakulam, Kurnool
Odisha	Kendrapara, Ganjam, Kalahandi, Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Bhadrak,
	Keonjhar, Bolangir, Dhenkanal
West Bengal	Coochbehar, Malda,
	South 24 Paraganas, North 24 Parganas, Murshidabad, Purulia

(c) & (d): Yes, three districts namely Anantapur, Kurnool and Srikakulam of Andhra Pradesh are included in TDC-NICRA. Resilient technologies are being demonstrated in farmer's fields in a cluster of villages at each location (about 16 villages in total) in these three Districts to minimise the yield losses due to climatic stresses.