GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS RAJYA SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. *66 ANSWERED ON 13/12/2022

OPERATION OF PORTS ACROSS THE COUNTRY

*66. SHRI IMRAN PRATAPGARHI:

Will the Minister of PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the operation and maintenance of the berth/terminals at all ports across the country is being done through the Public Private Partnership (PPP) mode;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the number of ports operated and run by Government and Private sector in the country; and
- (c) the details of the ports privatised during the last three years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

(a) to (c) A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF RAJYA SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.*66 ANSWERED ON 13TH DECEMBER, 2022 RAISED BY SHRI IMRAN PRATAPGARHI REGARDING "OPERATION OF PORTS ACROSS THE COUNTRY".

- (a) There are 12 Major Ports wholly owned by the Central Government and governed by provisions of Major Port Authority Act, 2021. Private Sector Participation has been allowed in these Major Ports on Public Private Partnership (PPP) basis for projects/berths/terminals through concession agreement for a fix tenure by way of bidding process on revenue share/royalty payment by the concessionaire. After the concession period gets over the port asset is handed over to the Port Authority. There are 213 non-major ports managed by and under the control of respective State Maritime Board/State Government. The State Maritime Board/State Government enters into a concession agreement with the private operator to develop and operate the port in Public Private Partnership (PPP). In case of Major Ports, out of 272 berths, 79 berths have been given on PPP mode.
 - (b) Information regarding 12 major ports controlled by the Central Government and the non-major ports controlled by State authorities including Maritime Boards is at **Annexure**.
 - (c) No Port in the country has been privatised as the ownership of the land and waterfront remains with the respective State/Central Government after the concession period gets over.

There are 12 major Ports under administrative control of Central Government *viz*. Deendayal, Mumbai, Jawaharlal Nehru, Mormugao, New Mangalore, Cochin, Tuticorin(VO-Chidambaranar), Chennai, Ennore(Kamarajar), Visakhapatnam, Paradip and Kolkata Ports and 213 non-major ports. The non-major ports in various States and Union Territories are controlled by the respective State/UT Governments. In 12 Major Ports across the country 79 berths are given on PPP mode.

Details of Major Ports Non-Major Ports Berths on PPP

S. No.	Name of the State	Major Ports			Non Major Ports*			
		No. of Major Ports	No. of Berths on PPP	Port Owned Berth	No. of Non Major Ports Handling Cargo	Port Operated by State Govt.	Port operated on PPP mode	
			10					
1	Gujarat	1	10	24	. 17	13	4	
2	Maharashtra	2	14	35	16	5	11	
3	Goa	1	3	3	1	1	0	
4	Karnataka	1	3	14	2	2	0	
5	Kerala	1	5	14	4	4	0	
6	Tamil Nadu	3	20	29	06	2	4	
7	Andhra Pradesh	1	8	18	4	0	4	

S. No.	Name of the State	Major Ports			Non Major Ports*			
		No. of Major Ports	No. of Berths on PPP	Port Owned Berth	No. of Non Major Ports Handling Cargo	Port Operated by State Govt.	Port operated on PPP mode	
8	Odisha	1	12	8	2	0	2	
9	West Bengal	1(HDC+K DS)	4	48	1	1	0	
10	Others*	0	0	0	14	14	0	
	Total	12	79	193	67	42	25	

^{*} Based on inputs provided by State authorities including Maritime Boards