GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1552 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.03.2020

STATUS OF NCLP SCHEME

1552. KUMARI SELJA:

Will the Minister of LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT be pleased to state:

- (a)the present status of the National Child Labour Project (NCLP) scheme, State/UT-wise;
- (b) the details of children who have been rescued under the NCLP scheme;
- (c)whether Government has conducted any follow-up on the rescued children; and
- (d)if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (IC) FOR LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT (SHRI SANTOSH KUMAR GANGWAR)

- (a): The present status of National Child Labour Project (NCLP) Scheme, State/UT-wise is at Annexure-I.
- (b): The number of children who were rescued/withdrawn from work, rehabilitated and mainstreamed under NCLP Scheme during the FY 2018-19, State-wise is at Annexure-II.
- (c)& (d): Under the NCLP Scheme, the children in the age group of 9-14 years are rescued/ withdrawn from work and enrolled in the NCLP Special Training Centres, where they are provided with bridge education, vocational training, mid-day meal, stipend, health care, etc. before being mainstreamed into formal education system. The children in the age group of 5-8 years are directly linked to the formal education system through a close coordination with the Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan.

The District Project Society through its volunteers is to maintain record of mainstreaming data and update it for next one year since mainstreaming.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1552 for 04.03.2020 by Kumari Selja regarding status of NCLP Scheme.

Sl. No.	Name of State	No. of Sanctioned NCLP	No. of Operational sanctioned	Name of District (Operational districts are in bold)
		Districts	Districts	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	13	6	Anantapur, Chittor, Kadapa, Guntur, Kurnool, Nellore , Prakasam, Srikakulam , Vizianagaram , Vishakhapatnam, West Godavari, East Godavari, and Krishna .
2.	Assam	5	2	Nagaon, Kamrup, Bongaigaon, Nalbari and Lakhimpur
3.	Bihar	24	0	Nalanda, Saharsa, Jamui, Katihar, Araria, Gaya, East Champaran, West Champaran, Madhepura, Patna, Supaul, Samastipur, Madhubani, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Nawada, Khagaria, Sitamarhi, Kishanganj, Begusarai, Banka, Saran, Purnia and Bhagalpur
4.	Chhattisgarh	8	0	Durg, Bilaspur, Rajnandgaon, Surguja, Raigarh, Raipur, Dantewada and Korba
5.	Gujarat	9	3	Surat, Panchmahal, Kutch (Bhuj), Banaskantha, Dahod, Vadodara, Bhavnagar, Ahmedabad and Rajkot
6.	Haryana	3	2	Gurgaon, Faridabad and Panipat
7.	Jammu & Kashmir	3	1	Srinagar, Jammu and Udhampur
8.	Jharkhand	8	5	Garwha, Sahibganj, Dumka, Pakur, West Singhbhum (Chaibasa), Ranchi, Palamu, and Hazaribagh
9.	Karnataka	17	4	Bijapur, Raichur , Dharwad, Bangalore Rural , Bangalore Urban, Belgaum , Koppal, Devangere, Mysore, Bagalkot, Chitradurga, Gulbarga, Bellary , Kolar, Mandya, Havery and Tumkur.
10.	Madhya Pradesh	22	7	Mandsaur, Gwalior, Ujjain, Barwani, Rewa, Dhar, East Nimar(Khandwa), Rajgarh, Chhindwara, Shivpuri, Sidhi, Guna, Shajapur, Ratlam, West Nimar(Khargon), Jhabua, Damoh, Sagar, Jabalpur, Satna, Indore and Katni.
11.	Maharashtra	18	11	Solapur, Thane, Sangli, Jalgaon, Nandurbar, Nanded, Nasik, Yavatmal, Dhule, Beed, Amravati, Jalna, Aurangabad, Gondia, Mumbai Suburban, Pune, Buldana and Parbhani.
12.	Nagaland	1	0	Dimapur
13.	Odisha	24	3	Angul, Balasore, Bargarh, Bolangir, Cuttack, Deogarh , Gajapati (Udayagiri), Ganjam, Jharsuguda , Kalahandi, Koraput, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Nabarangpur, Nuapada, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Sonepur, Jajpur, Keonjhar , Dhenkenal, Khurda, Nayagarh and Sundergarh.
14.	Punjab	3	3	Jalandhar, Ludhiana and Amritsar

15.	Rajasthan	27	3	Jaipur, Udaipur, Tonk, Jodhpur, Ajmer, Alwar, Jalore, Churu, Nagaur, Chittaurgarh, Banswara, Dhaulpur, Sikar, Dungarpur, Bharatpur, Bikaner, Jhunjhunu, Bundi, Jhalawar, Pali, Bhilwara, Sri Ganganagar, Barmer, Dausa, Hanumangarh, Kota and Baran.
16.	Tamil Nadu	18	15	Chidambaranar/Toothikudi (Tuticorin), Coimbatore, Dharmapuri, Vellore, Salem, Tiruchirapallli, Tirunelveli, Krishnagiri, Chennai, Erode, Dindigul, Theni. Kanchipuram, Thiruvannamallai, Tiruvallur, Pudukkottai, Nammakkal and Virudhunagar.
17.	Telangana	31	3	Hyderabad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Nizamabad , Rangareddy, Warangal, Nalgonda, Medak, Mehbubnagar, Adilabad, Mancherial, Nirmal, Komuram Bheem Asifabad, Jagtiyal, Warrangal (Urban), Jayashankar Bhupalpally, Jangaon, Sangareddy, Siddipet, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Jogulambab Gajwal, Suryapet, Medchal Malkajgiri, Vikarabad, Mahabubabad, Pedapally, Rajanna Sircilla, Bhadradri Kothagudem, Yadadri Bhuvanagiri and Kamareddy .
18.	Uttar Pradesh	56	9	Varanasi, Mirzapur, Bhadohi (Sant Ravi Das Nagar), Bulandshahar, Saharanpur, Azamgarh, Bijnour, Gonda, Kheri, Bahraich, Balrampur, Hardoi, Barabanki, Sitapur, Faizabad, Badaun, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Kannuaj, Shajahanpur, Rae Bareli, Unnao, Sultanpur, Fatehpur, Shravasti, Pratapgarh, Basti, Sonebhadra, Mau, Kaushambi, Banda, Ghaziabad, Jaunpur, Rampur, Bareilly, Lucknow, Meerut, Etawah, Agra, Ghazipur, Mathura, Etah, Moradabad, Allahabad, Kanpur Nagar, Aligarh, Ferozabad, Ballia, Sambhal, Hapur, Mainpuri, Sant Kabir Nagar, Gautam Budh Nagar, Jhansi, Lalitpur and Maharajganj.
19.	Uttarakhand	13	1	Dehradun, Chamoli, Nainital, Champawat, Almora, Haridwar, Tehri Garhwal, Pauri Garhwal, Udham Singh Nagar, Pithoragarh, Rudraprayag, Bageshwar and Uttarkashi.
20.	West Bengal	20	10	Burdwan, North Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur, North 24-Parganas, South 24-Parganas, Kolkata, Murshidabad, West Midnapore, Maldah, Bankura, Purulia, Birbhum, Nadia, Hoogli, Howrah, Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, East Midnapore, Alipurduar and Darjeeling.
21.	Delhi	1	0	NCT of Delhi
	Total	324	88	

Annexure referred to in reply to part (b) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1552 for 04.03.2020 by Kumari Selja regarding status of NCLP Scheme.

Number of children who were rescued/withdrawn from work, rehabilitated and mainstreamed under National Child Labour Project (NCLP) Scheme during the FY 2018-19, State-wise:

Sl. No.	State	2018-19
1.	Andhra Pradesh	778
2.	Assam	4562
3.	Bihar	0
4.	Gujarat	101
5.	Haryana	171
6.	Jharkhand	1225
7.	Karnataka	763
8.	Madhya Pradesh	4910
9.	Maharashtra	8122
10.	Nagaland	111
11.	Punjab	915
12.	Rajasthan	0
13.	Tamil Nadu	2534
14.	Telangana	935
15.	Uttar Pradesh	8020
16.	West Bengal	17137
