GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 62

TO BE ANSWERED ON TUESDAY, THE 11TH DECEMBER, 2018, 20 Agrahayana, 1940, (SAKA)

Shareholders of GSTN

62. DR. SUBRAMANIAN SWAMY

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Goods, Services Tax Network (GSTN) has been modified so that the entire shareholding of GSTN is with Government and the Government Institutions
- (b) if so, on which date the decision was taken and the reasons for the same; and
- (c) the names of current shareholders and the proportion of their respective shareholding

<u>ANSWER</u>

MINISTER OF STATE IN MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI SHIV PRATAP SHUKLA)

- (a) & (b): Considering the nature of State functions performed by GSTN, GST Council and Union Cabinet had decided that GSTN be converted into a fully owned Government Company. The Cabinet in its meeting held on 26th Sep, 2018 approved the proposal of restructuring of GSTN, with 100% Government ownership, where Centre and State would each hold 50%. GSTN has initiated the process of transfer of 51% equity of the company held by the Non-Government Institutions to the Centre and States, as per provisions of Companies Act, 2013, and the Rules made thereunder.
- (c): The names of current shareholders and the proportion of their respective shareholding are given in Annexure-I.

ANNEXURE-I

List of Shareholders of GSTN as on 5th December, 2018

| S. No. | Names | Total | % |
|--------|---|---------|-------|
| 1 | Central Government | 2450000 | 24.50 |
| 2 | Empowered Committee of State Finance | | |
| | Ministers | 80000 | 0.80 |
| 3 | LIC Housing Finance Ltd. | 1100000 | 11.0 |
| 4 | Housing Development Finance | | |
| | Corporation Limited | 1000000 | 10.0 |
| 5 | HDFC Bank Ltd | 1000000 | 10.0 |
| 6 | ICICI Bank Ltd | 1000000 | 10.0 |
| 7 | NSE Strategic Investment Corporation Ltd. | 1000000 | 10.0 |
| 8 | Govt. of Punjab | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 9 | Govt. of Gujarat | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 10 | Govt. of Haryana | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 11 | Govt. of Odisha | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 12 | Union Territory of Puducherry | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 13 | Govt. of Tamil Nadu | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 14 | Govt. of Jammu & Kashmir | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 15 | Govt. of Maharashtra | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 16 | Govt. of Rajasthan | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 17 | Govt. of Sikkim | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 18 | Govt. of Karnataka | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 19 | Govt. of Andhra Pradesh | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 20 | Govt. of Meghalaya | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 21 | Govt. of Bihar | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 22 | Govt. of Himachal Pradesh | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 23 | Govt. of Nagaland | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 24 | Govt. of Mizoram | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 25 | Govt. of Uttarakhand | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 26 | Govt. of Kerala | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 27 | Govt. of Manipur | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 28 | Govt. of Tripura | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 29 | Govt. of Assam | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 30 | Govt. of Delhi | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 31 | Govt. of Goa | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 32 | Govt. of West Bengal | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 33 | Govt. of Jharkhand | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 34 | Govt. of Uttar Pradesh | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 35 | Govt. of Chhattisgarh | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 36 | Govt. of Madhya Pradesh | 79000 | 0.79 |
| 37 | Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh | 79000 | 0.79 |

Total 10000000 100.00