GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1853** TO BE ANSWERED ON: 28.12.2018

ACCESS OF DIGITAL SERVICES THROUGH COMMON SERVICE CENTRES

1853 SHRI PRABHAT JHA:

Will the Minister of Electronics & Information Technology be pleased to state:

(a) whether, the Common Service Centres have been established under the Digital India Programme, which are access centres for providing various digital services to the villages and in the rural areas across the country, and which are contributing significantly in fulfilling the Government's commitment to ensure an inclusive society from financial point of view;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether operating Common Service Centres are working successfully in various States as per target; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTRY OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI S. S. AHLUWALIA)

(a) and (b): Yes, Sir.

Common Services Centres (CSC) are being set-up by M/s CSC e-Governance Services India Limited, which is a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) floated by Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology (MeitY), for the purpose, under Digital India Program. It fulfils the objective under pillar-3; i.e. "public internet access program", of Digital India Programme, which aims to provide digital services through internet to the villages and in the rural areas across the country through the Digital Seva (DS) portal.

It is a self-sustainable digital service delivery model with an effort towards optimum utilisation of available infrastructure. On Digital Seva (DS) portal, total 354 digital services are available which includes Banking & Business Correspondents (BCs), Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AePS), Insurance and Pension services, etc. As on 30th November, 2018, the total number of functional CSCs in India are 3,08,782, out of which, 2,11,639 CSCs are functional at GP level.

(c) and (d): State/UT wise details of functional CSCs as on 30th November, 2018:

STATE/UT-WISE STATUS OF FUNCTIONAL CSCs AS ON 30th NOVEMBER, 2018	
Name of States	Total No. of Functional CSCs including GP Level (As on 30 Nov'18)
Uttar Pradesh	66409
Maharashtra	42137
Bihar	27846
Madhya Pradesh	20712
Rajasthan	15216
West Bengal	14494
Chhattisgarh	13939
Jharkhand	12872
Odisha	11792
Haryana	11229
Gujarat	10837
Tamil Nadu	9603
Andhra Pradesh	8063
Punjab	7669
Karnataka	6735
Telangana	5369
Uttarakhand	5184
Assam	4780
Himachal Pradesh	3606
Kerala	3676
Jammu & Kashmir	2320
Manipur	648
Tripura	613
Meghalaya	520
Nagaland	312
Mizoram	165
Arunachal Pradesh	151
Goa	83
Sikkim	46
State Total (A)	307026
STATE/UT-WISE STATUS OF FUNCTIONAL CSCs AS ON 30th NOVEMBER, 2018	
Name of Union Territories (UTs) Total No. of Functional CSCs including GP Level (As on 30 Nov'18)	
NCT of Delhi	1393
Puducherry	194
Chandigarh	61

Andaman & Nicobar	58
Dadra & Nagar Haveli	28
Daman & Diu	14
Lakshadweep	8
UT Total (B)	1756
GRAND TOTAL (A+B)	308782
