GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SKILL DEVELOPMENT AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2546 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.08.2018

OPENING OF SDCs AT TEHSIL AND BLOCK LEVEL

†2546. SHRI KAILASH SONI:

Will the Minister of SKILL DEVELOPMENT AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government propose to open Skill Development Centres (SDCs) at Tehsil and Block level, if so, the time by when these centres will be operational; and
- (b) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SKILL DEVELOPMENT AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP (SHRI ANANTKUMAR HEGDE)

(a) and (b) Under Skill India Mission, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship is implementing a flagship scheme known as Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) on pan-India basis. PMKVY enables large number of prospective youth for taking Short Term Training (STT) and Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) through accredited and affiliated training centers across the country covering Tehsils and Blocks. Under the scheme, the accreditation and affiliation of training centres are being done through a single window application SMART for imparting skill development training.

PMKVY has two components known as Centrally Sponsored Centrally Managed (CSCM) being implemented by National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) and Centrally Sponsored State Managed (CSSM) being implemented by State Skill Development Missions of the States/ UTs popularly known as State-Engagement Component of PMKVY (2016-20). Under CSCM and CSSM component of PMKVY 2016-20, there are about 7,213 and 1,080 operational TCs, respectively.

Also, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship is promoting establishment of model and aspirational skill centres known as Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Kendra (PMKK) in every district covering Tehsils and Blocks for imparting skill training through Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) 2016-20. As on 11.07.2018, 613 PMKKs have been allocated across 35 States and UTs covering 548 Districts and 468 Parliamentary Constituencies (PCs). Out of the 613 allocated PMKKs, 462 centres have been established.
