GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENRGY

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4155

TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.04.2018

POWER GENERATION THROUGH NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY

4155. SHRI RAM NATH THAKUR

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that Government is considering to increase the capacity of power generation through means of new and renewable energy;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether Government would supply electricity in the country by generating power using solar energy; and
- (d) the details of the places in the country especially in Bihar where solar energy plants are to be set up?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER (I/C) (SHRI R. K. SINGH)

- (a) & (b) The Government has set a target of installing 175 GW of renewable energy capacity by the year 2022 which includes 100 GW from solar, 60 GW from wind, 10 GW from bio-power and 5 GW from small hydro power.
- (c) The electricity generated through solar energy is already being supplied in the country through grid. A total of 19850 million units of power have been generated through solar energy during 2017-18 (up to January, 2018).
- (d) The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) is implementing a scheme for development of Solar Parks and Ultra Mega solar power projects wherein the basic infrastructure such as roads, lands, evacuation network etc. are created. These parks are used by the developers for setting up solar plants. A list of Solar Parks sanctioned by MNRE is given in the Annexure. Solar Parks are sanctioned by MNRE as and when proposals are received from the State Governments as per the scheme guidelines. The Government of Bihar has not submitted any proposal for setting up of Solar Park. However, the State Government of Bihar has reported setting up of the following solar power generation plants in the state:-

>	Gaya District	- 50 MW
>	Nawada District	- 13 MW
>	West Champaran	- 15 MW
>	Banka District	- 30 MW
>	Aurangabad District	- 20 MW

Madhya Pradesh (for Bihar) - 10 MW

Annexure referred to in reply to part (d) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 4155 for 3/4/2018 regarding 'Power generation through new and renewable energy' List of Solar Parks Sanctioned under the Solar Park Scheme (as on 28-02-2018)

Name of the Solar Park Sl. No. State Capacity (MW) 1. Andhra Pradesh Ananthapuramu-I solar park 1500 2. Andhra Pradesh Kurnool solar park 1000 3. Andhra Pradesh Kadapa solar park 1000 4. Andhra Pradesh Ananthapuramu-II solar park 500 5. Andhra Pradesh Solar Wind Hybrid Park 160 30 Arunachal Pradesh Lohit solar park 6. 70 7. Assam Solar park in Assam 250 Chhattisgarh Rajnandgaon solar park 8. 9. 700 Gujarat Radhnesada solar park 10. 500 Gujarat Harsad solar park 500 11. Haryana Solar park in Haryana 12. Himachal Pradesh Solar park in Himachal Pradesh 1000 Jammu & Kashmir Solar park in J&K 100 13. 14. Karnataka Pavagada solar park 2000 15. Kerala 200 Kasargod solar park 16. Madhya Pradesh Rewa solar park 750 17. Madhya Pradesh Neemuch-Mandsaur solar park 700 18. Madhva Pradesh Agar-Shajapur- Rajgarh solar park 1050 19. 250 Madhya Pradesh Morena (Chambal) solar park 20. Maharashtra Sai Guru solar park 500 Maharashtra Dondaicha solar park 500 21. 22. Maharashtra 500 Patoda solar park 23. 20 Manipur Bukpi solar park 24. Meghalaya Solar park in Meghalaya 20 20 25. Mizoram Vankal solar park 23 26. Nagaland Solar park in Nagaland 27. Odisha Solar park in Odisha 1000 28. Bhadla-II solar park 680 Rajasthan 29. 1000 Rajasthan Bhadla-III solar park 750 30. Rajasthan Phalodi-Pokaran solar park 31. Rajasthan Bhadla-IV solar park 500 Rajasthan Fatehgarh Phase-1B solar park 421 32. 33. Rajasthan Nokh solar park 980 Solar park in Tamil Nadu 34. Tamil Nadu 500 35. Tamil Nadu Kadaladi Solar Park 500 440 36. Uttar Pradesh Solar park in UP 37. Uttarakhand Solar park in Uttarakhand 50 38. West Bengal Solar park in West Bengal 500 TOTAL 21164