GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD & PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3283 TO BE ANSWERED ON 23RD MARCH, 2018

ALLOCATION OF FUNDS TO STATE FOOD COMMISSIONS

3283. SHRI RAVI PRAKASH VERMA: SHRI NEERAJ SHEKHAR:

Will the Minister of CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of States where State Food Commissions under the National Food Security Act, 2013 have become operative as per the orders of the Supreme Court, so far, along with the date of their operation thereof, State-wise;
- (b) the details of the funds allocated and released to State Food Commissions during 2017-18; State-wise;
- (c) whether State Food Commission of Uttar Pradesh has not been provided with staff and adequate funds, so far;
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor; and
- (e) the steps Government propose to take in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD & PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION (SHRI RAMVILAS PASWAN)

(a): Section 16 of National Food Security Act,2013 (NFSA) provides that every State Government shall, by notification, constitute a State Food Commission for the purpose of monitoring and review of implementation of this Act. Further, Section 18 of the Act provides that the State Government may, if considered necessary, by notification, designate any statutory commission or a body to exercise the powers and perform the functions of the State Food Commission. Hon'ble Supreme Court, in Writ Petition (Civil) 857 of 2015 Swaraj Abhiyan Vs Union of India, inter-alia directed constitution of SFC by States/UTs, as per provisions of Section 16 of the Act, meeting the requirement in terms of composition and eligibility criteria of Chairpersons and Members prescribed therein, rather than appointing another commission or body to function as SFC, unless it is absolutely necessary and completely unavoidable and only as a last resort.

In all the States/Union Territories, except West Bengal, State Food Commission has been either constituted or designated, the details of which are given in **Annexure**.

(b) to (e): Under NFSA, it is the responsibility of the State Governments/UT Administrations to make available to the State Food Commission necessary staff and also provide for salary and allowances of Chairperson, other Members, Member-Secretary, supporting staff, and other administrative expenses required for proper functioning of the State Commission. As per information received from Government of Uttar Pradesh, one Accounts Officer, one accountant, one Administrative Officer and one Principal Assistant have been directed to assist in the functioning of the State Food Commission, in addition to their own regular work. Further, the State Government has released an amount of Rs.96.10 lakh to the SFC which includes Rs.17.96 lakh towards non-salary expenditure and Rs.78.14 lakh towards salaries.

The Central Government has a scheme for one time financial assistance upto Rs.50 lakhs to State Governments/UT Administrations towards non-building assets of SFCs set up on an exclusive basis. Allocation of funds is for the scheme as a whole and not State/UT-wise. During 2017-18, no fund has been released to any State/UT under this scheme.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 3283 DUE FOR ANSWER ON 23-03-2018 IN THE RAJYA SABHA

State-wise statement showing dates of Constitution/designation of State Food Commission

		Date of notification of constitution or
S. No	Name of State	designation of State Food
		Commission
1	Andhra Pradesh	19.07.2017
2	Arunachal Pradesh	26.05.2016
3	Assam	06.02.2014
4	Bihar	05.05.2017
5	Chhattisgarh	30.03.2017
6	Goa	28.08.2015
7	Delhi	23.08.2013
8	Gujarat	21.03.2017
9	Haryana	04.08.2014
10	Himachal Pradesh	12.10.2017
11	Jharkhand	13.04.2017
12	Jammu & Kashmir	15.01.2016
13	Karnataka	05.07.2017
14	Kerala	13.10.2016
15	Madhya Pradesh	11.04.2017
16	Maharashtra	11.04.2017
17	Manipur	03.10.2015
18	Mizoram	18.02.2016
19	Meghalaya	17.05.2016
20	Nagaland	12.07.2016
21	Odisha	09.05.2016
22	Punjab	22.12.2016
23	Sikkim	13.01.2018
24	Rajasthan	10.03.2017
25	Tamil Nadu	16.02.2018
26	Telangana	10.04.2017
27	Tripura	30.12.2017
28	Uttar Pradesh	04.01.2017
29	Uttarakhand	21.10.2013
30	Andaman & Nicobar	20.03.2015
31	Daman & Diu	27.08.2015
32	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	05.06.2015
33	Lakshadweep	11.01.2017
34	Chandigarh	08.01.2014
35	Puducherry	27.07.2015