GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS (DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL AND TRAINING)

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3142 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 22.03.2018)

APPOINTMENT OF IAS TO CONSTITUTIONAL POSTS

3142. SHRI SANJIV KUMAR:

Will the **PRIME MINISTER** be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of appointments made to the constitutional positions from amongst Government officers during the last three years;
- (b) whether it is a fact that almost all the appointments of such officers are from the IAS;
- (c) if so, the details of basis/rules providing for this; and
- (d) whether it is also a fact that Government is considering to broad base and make appointments more inclusive, as there is a wide expertise available in Government?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

(a) to (d) : The details of the appointments made to the constitutional positions from amongst Government officers during the last three years are at Annexure.

The appointments to the Constitutional Posts are made on the basis of relevant Constitutional Provisions.

Annexure referred to in reply to the Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3142 for 22.03.2018

Details of appointments made to Constitutional posts from amongst Government officers during the last three years

Sl No.	Name of the Constitutional Post	Name	DateofAssumptionofcharge of Office	Service to which belong
1	Member, UPSC	Shri Arvind Saxena	08/05/2015	Research & Analysis Wing
2	Member, UPSC	Shri Bhim Sain Bassi	31/05/2016	Indian Police Service
3	Member, UPSC	Air Marshal A.S.Bhonsle (Retd.)	21/02/2017	Armed Forces (Indian Air Force)
4	Member, UPSC	Ms. Sujata Mehta	21/02/2017	Indian Foreign Service
5	Member, UPSC	Ms. Smita Nagaraj	01/12/2017	Indian Administrative Service
6	Chairman, National Commission of Scheduled Castes (NCSC)	Prof. (Dr.) Ram Shankar Katheria	02/06/2017	Ex Government employee working as Professor of Hindi at the Agra University.
7	Chief Election Commissioner	Shri H.S. Brahma	16/01/2015	Indian Administrative Service
8	Chief Election Commissioner	Dr. Nasim Zaidi	19/04/2015	Indian Administrative Service
9	Election Commissioner	Shri Achal Kumar Joti	13/05/2015	Indian Administrative Service
10	Election Commissioner	Shri Om Prakash Rawat	14/08/2015	Indian Administrative Service
11	Chief Election Commissioner	Shri Achal Kumar Joti	06/07/2017	Indian Administrative Service
12	Chief Election Commissioner	Shri Om Prakash Rawat	23/01/2018	Indian Administrative Service
13	Election Commissioner	Shri Sunil Arora	01/09/2017	Indian Administrative Service
14	Election Commissioner	Shri Ashok Lavasa	23/01/2018	Indian Administrative Service
15	Comptroller & Auditor General of India	Shri Rajiv Mehrishi	September 2017	Indian Administrative Service
16	Chairman, Finance Commission	Shri N.K.Singh	27/11/2017	Indian Administrative Service

Sl	Name of the	Name	Date of	Service to which
No.	Constitutional		Assumption of	belong
	Post		charge of Office	
17	Member, Finance	Shri Shaktikanta	27/11/2017	Indian Administrative
	Commission	Das		Service
18	Member, Finance	Dr. Ashok Lahiri	Date of	Former Chief Economic
	Commission		Notification of	Advisor, Government of
			Constitution of	India.
			Finance	
			Commission-	
			27/11/2017	
19	Member,	Shri Hari Krishna	16/01/2017	Indian Administrative
	National	Damor		Service
	Commission for			
	Scheduled Tribes			
20	Commissioner		No appointment	
	for Linguistic		has been made	
	Minorities		since 25/04/2016.	