# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AYURVEDA, YOGA & NATUROPATHY, UNANI, SIDDHA AND HOMOEOPATHY (AYUSH)

## RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2731 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20<sup>TH</sup> MARCH, 2018

#### **GROWING OF MEDICINAL PLANTS**

#### 2731. DR. R. LAKSHMANAN:

# Will the Minister of AYURVEDA, YOGA & NATUROPATHY, UNANI, SIDDHA AND HOMOEOPATHY be pleased to state:

(a) whether Government has identified any geographical area across the country to grow medicinal plants;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) the details of the extent of geographical area in which currently medicinal plants are grown, State-wise; and

(d) the details of persons engaged in growing medicinal plants?

## ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE (IC) OF THE MINISTRY OF AYURVEDA, YOGA & NATUROPATHY, UNANI, SIDDHA AND HOMOEOPATHY (SHRI SHRIPAD YESSO NAIK)

(a) to (d): India is one of the richest countries in terms of biodiversity having diverse ecosystems ranging from Himalayan to Marine and Rainforest to Desert which supports diverse range of medicinal plants species and as per the available information more than 8000 species of medicinal plants are found growing in the country. Due to its varied climatic and geographical conditions, India also have 15 agro-climatic zones which are suitable for growing of different types of medicinal plants species including some endemic species.

The large scale cultivation of number of medicinal plants species is carried out throughout the country, however the Ministry of AYUSH, Government of India is also supporting cultivation of medicinal plant under its Centrally Sponsored Scheme of National AYUSH Mission (NAM). Under the NAM scheme a total of 31226.95 hectare area has been supported for cultivation in different States of the country during 2015-16 to 2017-18 (the State/UT-wise detail is at **Annexure**).

# Annexure

S.No.	Name of the States/ UTs	Area (in hectare)
1	Andhra Pradesh	2504.00
2	Arunachal Pradesh	213.40
3	Assam	320.00
5	Chhattisgarh	220.00
6	Goa	52.36
7	Gujarat	417.83
8	Haryana	419.80
9	Himachal Pradesh	166.00
10	Jammu & Kashmir	43.00
12	Karnataka	2121.46
13	Kerala	1529.00
14	Madhya Pradesh	6229.00
15	Maharashtra	770.43
16	Manipur	526.20
17	Meghalaya	70.00
18	Mizoram	151.28
19	Nagaland	439.00
20	Orissa	488.50
21	Punjab	360.00
22	Puducherry	43.00
23	Rajasthan	2833.50
24	Sikkim	179.00
25	Tamil Nadu	2320.48
26	Telangana	1096.18
27	Uttar Pradesh	6431.00
28	Uttarakhand	483.53
29	West Bengal	754.00
30	Tripura	45.00
	Total	31226.95