## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

## RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2677 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19.03.2018

#### TRAINING THROUGH RSETIS

#### **2677. SHRIMATI SASIKALA PUSHPA:**

Will the Minister of **RURAL DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government is providing training to unemployed youths particularly in rural areas through Rural Self Employment Training Institutes (RSETIs);
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of the shareholders who are involved in imparting training to rural youths; and
- (d) the details of the RSETIs in the State of Tamil Nadu?

# ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAM KRIPAL YADAV)

- (a): Ministry is undertaking a skill development program for rural poor youth through Rural Self Employment Training Institutes (RSETIs) as part of its National Rural Livelihoods Mission (NRLM) in order to diversify household income of rural poor. Ministry supports the cost of skilling of rural poor youth to RSETIs through State Governments concerned.
- (b): There are 586 RSETIs located in 566 Districts in 29 States and 4 Union Territories. RSETIs provide training in Agriculture, Process, Product and General Entrepreneurship Development Programmes (EDP) courses to candidates leading to self employment. Some candidates take up wage employment also. As per available information (as on 28.2.2018) out of 374422 candidates trained in RSETIs in the FY 2017-18, a total of 193485 belong to rural poor.
- (c): RSETI is a three-way partnership amongst Ministry of Rural Development, State Government and Banks. There are 31 participating banks in RSETI. Training is imparted by Director and Faculty Members of RSETIs, who have undergone Trainers Training Programmes. In addition, subject matter specialists are also associated as Guest Faculty Members in imparting training to candidates.
- (d): A list of RSETIs in Tamil Nadu State is as below:-

Sl.	DISTRICT	Name of the participating
No.		Bank
1	ARIYALUR	State Bank of India
2	DHARMAPURI	Indian Bank
3	DINDIGUL ANNA	Canara Bank
4	ERODE	Canara Bank
5	KANCHIPURAM	Indian Bank
6	KARUR-DHEERAN	Indian Overseas Bank
7	THE NILGIRIS	Indian Overseas Bank

8	MADURAI	RUDSETI
9	NAGAPATTANAM	Indian Overseas Bank
10	KANYAKUMARI	Indian Overseas Bank
11	THE NILGIRIS	Canara Bank
12	PERAMBALUR	Indian Overseas Bank
13	PUDUKOTTAI	Indian Overseas Bank
14	COIMBATORE	Canara Bank
15	RAMANATHAPURAM	Indian Overseas Bank
	(Ramnad)	
16	SALEM	Indian Bank
17	THANJAVUR	Indian Overseas Bank
18	THENNI	Canara Bank
19	TUTICORN/THOOTHUKUDI	State Bank of India
20	TIRUNELVELLI	Indian Overseas Bank
21	TIRUPPUR	Canara Bank
22	THIRUVALLUR	Indian Bank
23	THIRUVARUR	Indian Overseas Bank
24	TRICHY	Indian Overseas Bank
25	VELLORE	Indian Bank
26	VIRUDUNAGAR	Indian Overseas Bank
27	NAMAKKAL	Indian Bank
28	KRISHNAGIRI	Indian Bank
29	TIRUVANNAMALAI	Indian Bank
30	VILLUPURAM	Indian Bank
31	CUDDALORE	Indian Bank

\*\*\*\*